Issues with printing ABS

I have recently started getting really bad air bubbles in my prints. I am using a Lulzbot Taz4 with matter control and curaengine to slice. It is only printing the air bubbles in certain places in the print and I can’t seem to figure out why it is doing it. See the pics below. Thanks for all suggestions and help in advance.

Howdy!

Aw, bummer on your prints being difficult! I’m still pretty new to printing, though I’ve had issues and I’m still learning myself!

It could be a combination of things. What kind of ABS filament are you using(who makes it)? I’ve seen other people running into issues like this because of contaminated plastics or excess moisture can cause these voids. It’s like a mini tea kettle, the moisture hits the extruder, makes a tiny plastic bubbles and the bursts, leaving a void or blob where the filament should be.

If the plastic is form a reputable place, have you left the filament out in a humid enviornment? ABS likes to take in any surrounding moisture. I run into this a bit since I live in a humid climate.

Hope this gives you a starting point. And good luck!

Here’s an article that could help as well :slight_smile:
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/6174/3d-printing-tips-and-tricks-filament-quality-and-why-it-matters/index.html

We’ve bought all of our filament from Lulzbot so I would hope it’s good stuff. The white is the one we see most issues from. I just printed with new red filament and it worked great. Maybe the white is contaminated?

This isn’t the only print that has had this issue though. It happens on all of the prints in the same place. Could it be a printer setting or something when it was sliced?

Thanks for the response.