Mini Using CURA, Issues with Erratic Infill Shaking

Hi guys,

This is my first post on this board, as I just received my Lulzbot Mini a couple weeks ago. This is my first venture into 3D printing, but I have been a CAD junkie for the past 10 years and do solid modeling on a daily basis at my job.

Getting started with this machine has been a breeze straight from the box, nearly all my first prints have been done using HIPS and the built in “quick print” profiles for either normal or high quality. I have been taking alot of my automotive related projects and parts, and scaling them down for fun at the moment. I am an Engineer for the Roadster Shop (http://www.roadstershop.com) where I get to design cool things like this all day, but in full scale obviously. The parts have turned out great, as I started with some larger parts with a decent amount of thickness for clean infilling. Here are some examples below from my instagram ( http://www.instagram.com/3d_magic_mike ) :

My latest venture has been to make a nice enclosure for around my Mini. I am making plastic bulkheads for stringers of 3/4" wood dowels to secure into, and acrylic panels will box in all sides from mounts on the bulkheads. I am still using HIPS at this point, not with the “normal” quick print HIPS settings.

These parts have thinner walls in some areas, and I am noticing that after the outlines are created on a new layer, the infill is extremely violent due to the short span it has to move from one side to the other of the boundary layers. I believe this is an infill issue and not a “fill small gaps” issue since i don’t think this version of CURA has code for it, at least there is no option to manually control it anywhere I can see.