must-have accessories for starter?

Hello,

I’m new to 3d printing and just ordered a Taz 5. I’m hoping that the community can help me know if there are any must-have accessories or tools I should get to go along with my new machine. I’m looking for the basics to get started successfully.

Thanks!

You will want a good set of digital vernier calipers to measure filliment and parts for calibration. The taz comes with a tool bag that will have things like Allen wrenches for machine adjustments so you wont need to go get those. A good part removal tool is also useful to have. I personally use a calephon gadgets cheese slicer wedge with the slicy bit filed off and taped over for that.

You will also want to find a thin piece of metal, about the thickness of a business card to use as a bed leveling feeler gauge since you always want to adjust bed height to a nozzle at print temperature since they expand.

Optionally, a cheap point and shoot infrared thermometer is a good investment to check bed and nozzle temperatures against what the computer thinks they are for troubleshooting. A electrical multimeter comes in handy as well but you shouldn’t need either of those right away.

For part finishing, a good carving knife is useful for removing excess plastic. A tandy leather #4 edging tool also works well for edge cleanup. A plastic debarring tool also helps. You may also want a radio control car body hole reaming tool to clean up hole edges. I also keep a cheap set of drill bits by the printer that I can use as a hand drill reamer to clean out printed holes. A flat file can also be useful for edge cleanup.

Welcome to the printer club!

Super, and thanks!

You will want a good set of digital vernier calipers to measure filliment and parts for calibration.
There seems to be a pretty broad range of tools…Something like this looks like reasonable quality, and not too expensive?: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001AQEZ2W