Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Look here for custom firmware, networked 3D printer hosts like OctoPrint, and more!
jsolterbeck
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:11 pm

Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by jsolterbeck » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:12 am

Anyone know if Lulzbot is going to keep up with Cura development in any way? I feel like I'm missing out on new features and Lulzbot hasn't updated their edition in some time. There are a lot of new features I want tot try. Has anyone just input their printer info in the latest Cura? How hard/time consuming is it to get it to be reliable?

rufu5
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:25 am

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by rufu5 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:09 pm

Check out https://code.alephobjects.com/project/profile/10/

It's still under development, but you might find something useful there anyway.

Cheers

Brent.I
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by Brent.I » Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:45 am

jsolterbeck wrote:How hard/time consuming is it to get it to be reliable?
We also have alpha builds available here: http://devel.lulzbot.com/software/Cura2/

We have the machine settings imported, and should be pretty close to select printer, filament and go. As a note, this is still an alpha version, and if anything pops up please report the issue here: https://code.alephobjects.com/project/board/10/

jsolterbeck
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by jsolterbeck » Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:48 am

Thanks to both! Will report back any findings/issues.

Brent.I
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by Brent.I » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:41 pm

We have new builds available, 2.6.14 can now be found here: http://devel.lulzbot.com/software/Cura2/

We have the machine settings imported, and should be pretty close to select printer, filament and go. As a note, this is still an alpha version, and if anything pops up please report the issue here: https://code.alephobjects.com/project/board/10/

jsolterbeck
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by jsolterbeck » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:42 am

Brent.I wrote:We have new builds available, 2.6.14 can now be found here: http://devel.lulzbot.com/software/Cura2/

We have the machine settings imported, and should be pretty close to select printer, filament and go. As a note, this is still an alpha version, and if anything pops up please report the issue here: https://code.alephobjects.com/project/board/10/

Hi! Thanks so much. I installed 2.6.16 for mac. When I choose the machine, it seems to go okay and then I get a message that I've changed the tool head and need to change machine firmware. The printer I chose is TAZ 6 with the normal tool head (which is correct). It gives me two choices, automatically change firmware, or upload custom firmware. Automatic button doesn't do anything. Upload custom gives me finder window.

Do you recommend I upload a custom firmware, and do you have a link to the correct firmware? Thanks for your help. Can't wait to try out the experimental settings in this version!

Brent.I
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by Brent.I » Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:50 am

Brent.I wrote:Do you recommend I upload a custom firmware, and do you have a link to the correct firmware? Thanks for your help. Can't wait to try out the experimental settings in this version!
Different tool heads will require different firmware in order to operate properly. This pop up is used to offer an easy way to "one click" update the firmware. If you have not changed tool heads, you will not need to update. Feel free to hit the cancel button at the bottom of the pop up window.

jsolterbeck
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:11 pm

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by jsolterbeck » Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:33 am

Brent.I wrote:Different tool heads will require different firmware in order to operate properly. This pop up is used to offer an easy way to "one click" update the firmware. If you have not changed tool heads, you will not need to update. Feel free to hit the cancel button at the bottom of the pop up window.
Haven't changed the tool head, although it's telling me I have. When I say cancel, it still does not connect the printer. I can export g-code, but the print is not connecting. I'll keep an eye on the folder you provided for future builds and keep trying. The old Cura still works fine, it just crashes after an hour.

Brent.I
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:21 am

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by Brent.I » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:39 pm

jsolterbeck wrote:When I say cancel, it still does not connect the printer.
Cura two operates a little differently. Have you gone to the upper right corner, select "print monitor" than press the connect button? Be sure to have the proper printer selected before trying to connect.

nuroo
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Cura Lulzbot edition lag?

Post by nuroo » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:46 am

I've been using beta Cura 2.6.33 alot. No lag experienced

I like all the extra settings.
Love the gradual infill feature. (middle of part uses less infill, but roofs get a denser infill beneath)
Luv zhop on layer change (much cleaner walls)
Z Seam Alignment (better looking model, easy to sand because seam in one place)
Some many other features to try and play with..........

Initial layer width:
Initial layer width is missing. The initial layer height setting is only half the battle for bed adhesion. Even with initial layer height set to full nozzle size I still loose adhesion. So now I find myself using a lot lower zoffset to help with parts sticking to with bed. If I could also increase initial line width like in old Cura it would help alot.

Custom Supports:
Beta Cura has them. But the implementation needs improvement. I want to be able to just add a support where ever like simplify3d. Cura's approach is much harder.
1st I have find a model shape that is suitable to be a support, they dont come with program. (correct me if wrong)
2nd scale the shape to fit where needed.
3nd turn the shape into a support mesh.
Thats a lot of steps. At least preload a few shapes like towers for the user to select.

New Cura massive improvement, thanks for bringing it to us on the Lulzbot side. If the initial line width were added I'd make it my daily slicer for Taz 6.

Post Reply