Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Look here for custom firmware, networked 3D printer hosts like OctoPrint, and more!
Post Reply
nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:36 am

Bed Perimeter Rectangle For Leveling and Calibrating your printer
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2208326
scaled to
x 1.2 = 264mm
y 1.85 = 259mm

old firmware
20170913_080932.jpg
new firmware 1.1.5.8
20170913_083315.jpg
20170913_083322.jpg



In both case I did the following:
End of Start code

Code: Select all

G1 Z2 E10 F75;
G92 E0;
M117 TAZ Printing... 
I extruded extra filament at start print because couldn't do a skirt, testing perimeter.
Shouldnt there be a consistent filament width and height like old firmware.

Generated gcode from Cura 21.04, in attachments
Temp 205C
layer height 2.5
Polylite PLA
Attachments
LevelingPerimeterRectangle.gcode
(225.28 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:39 pm

Firmware 1.1.5.9
Advanced Pause/Filament Change for the WIN......THANK YOU SIR

Its interactive.
It beeps
It waits to finish the the section its doing (no abrupt halt with small pause - melting that point in model)
It parks head away from print
It cools head during filament change so filament doesn't cook
It retracts old filament (a little much)
It primes nozzle interactively ( gives user chance to load more filament if needed)
It resumes at same point in print nicely

Well done !!!

Have to check how this feature behaves with octoprint or console issued filament change and resume.
Last edited by nuroo on Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:07 pm, edited 3 times in total.

nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:47 pm

1.1.5.9
20170915_204019.jpg
20170915_204029.jpg
Autolevel is not working for me

marcio
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:44 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by marcio » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:25 am

nuroo wrote:
Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:47 pm
1.1.5.9

20170915_204019.jpg
20170915_204029.jpg

Autolevel is not working for me
Nuroo,

Try adjusting your Z-Offset. Your first layer is too squished. Start a print, then while it is printing go under Control -> Motion -> Z Offset and turn the knob clockwise to raise the nozzle. Click to confirm. You want to tune it so the bead the printer is putting down on the first layer is not squished. It should have a nice raised appearance.

-- Marcio

nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:40 am

marcio wrote:
Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:25 am
nuroo wrote:
Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:47 pm
1.1.5.9

20170915_204019.jpg
20170915_204029.jpg

Autolevel is not working for me
Nuroo,

Try adjusting your Z-Offset. Your first layer is too squished. Start a print, then while it is printing go under Control -> Motion -> Z Offset and turn the knob clockwise to raise the nozzle. Click to confirm. You want to tune it so the bead the printer is putting down on the first layer is not squished. It should have a nice raised appearance.

-- Marcio
Thank you for the response. Maybe there is something I'm not doing right.
I flash new firmware
Load failsafes
Save
Enter factory settings:
Esteps
Zoffset.
Save

Print from Octoprint or sd card.
-------------
Only new firmware I have problems rear left.
Old firmware same gcode prints fine.

If my zoffset is wrong in new firmware I can adjust it up some. What I'm getting is an inconsistent error in the level around perimeter of bed on the rear left. If I had a bad zoffset for arguments sake, it should be consistently bad around whole perimeter, not just rear left?
In pics the bead is nice until is gets near the rear left corner but only new firmware, not the old firmware.

nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:15 pm

@ Marcio
I'll assume this firmware is running consistent perimeters around the edge of print bed for you. Assume its an end user mistake. Need someone else with a Taz 6 to confirm my result or logically its just me. I'm happy to beta test because I can revert back to old firmware if problems.

nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:19 am

Installed 1.1.5.11

loaded failsafes, then esteps and zoffset etc.....

Tried to print a model, the firmware said something like g28 prohibited and wouldn't allow a print. Can you explained new setup procedure?

I noticed under prepare:
bed leveling
set home offsets.

Thanks

marcio
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:44 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by marcio » Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:39 am

nuroo wrote:
Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:15 pm
@ Marcio
I'll assume this firmware is running consistent perimeters around the edge of print bed for you. Assume its an end user mistake. Need someone else with a Taz 6 to confirm my result or logically its just me. I'm happy to beta test because I can revert back to old firmware if problems.
What I suspect is happening is that bed leveling is not perfect, but generally the offset is small enough that the difference is not enough to see with the naked eye. The one instance in which it becomes visible is when the Z-offset is low enough that the nozzle drags on the bed. At that point, the nozzle catches momentarily and then releases and you get the telltale dot dot dot pattern as the flow of plastic is cut off and released.

We have determined that under the new Marlin the Z-offsets need to be different. On the older FW, a Z-offset of -1.500 was appropriate, but on the new FW the value needs to be around -1.200 for the TAZ (we will change the defaults soon).

I suspect you are using the defaults of -1.500 on the new FW, which is too low, so this makes any imprecision in bed leveling apparent. If you were to try the old firmware, but lowered your Z-offsets sufficiently so that the nozzle caught in the same manner, I suspect you would also see imperfections in leveling.

I do not understand the error you got with G28. Please post the exact error message from the console. Also, let me know whether you are using Cura 1 or Cura 2 Beta.

-- Marcio

nuroo
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by nuroo » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:28 am

Ok I'm at work now. But part of the reason I was using such low offsets is because in new beta Cura software there is only initial line height.
In old Cura 21.04 they had initial layer height and initial line width. So in new Cura the only way i have to increase bed adhesion is closer zoffset.
In Cura 2.7 they added intial line width back in as per release notes.

Last night:
Once I flash new firmware restore failsafes, adjust esteps and zoffsets, save. I went straight to try and print a job. Firmware wouldn't let me print. So i went to prepare > bed leveling. It did a procedure similar to the probing process. After that it allowed me to print.
That's why I wanted to know if after loading new firmware does user have to bed level or do set home offsets B4 printing?

(Yea Im going to have to go below -2.0 for my offset but it got too late to nail down a perfect offset. I also spent 2 hours trying to make sure my frame was square, and my z gantry was parallel, same distance on lead screws etc. But I'm still have issues rear left of bed)
Last edited by nuroo on Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

marcio
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:44 pm

Re: Marlin 1.1 config for TAZ6?

Post by marcio » Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:09 am

nuroo wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:28 am
Once I flash new firmware restore failsafes, adjust esteps and zoffsets, save. I went straight to try and print a job. Firmware wouldn't let me print.
This should not happen. Let me know what the exact error was so I can try tracking it down.
nuroo wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:28 am
So i went to prepare > bed leveling. It did a procedure similar to the probing process. After that it allowed me to print.
That's why I wanted to know if after loading new firmware does user have to bed level or do set home offsets B4 printing?
You should be able to print directly from Cura. None of the steps you described should be necessary.
nuroo wrote:
Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:28 am
(Yea Im going to have to go below -2.0 for my offset but it got too late to nail down a perfect offset. I also spent 2 hours trying to make sure my frame was square, and my z gantry was parallel, same distance on lead screws etc. But I'm still have issues rear left of bed)
No, -2.00 is too low. I think you want to go higher, perhaps -1.200 or even -1.100 (note that the numbers are negative).

I just did the bed leveling you provided on Marlin 1.0.2.22 and Marlin 1.1.5.11. I used a Z-offset of -1.200 and the print was overly squished on both. Both FW versions showed differences between the best corner and the worst corner; in fact, the difference was more pronounced on the print from Marlin 1.0.2.22.

Overall, I think the conclusion is that bed calibration is not perfect. You need to adjust the Z-offset high enough so that the nozzle is far enough from the bed so that the leveling inaccuracy does not cause the head to drag. I suspect you have it set too low.

-- Marcio

Post Reply