Taz 2 Firmware fail

Look here for custom firmware, networked 3D printer hosts like OctoPrint, and more!
Post Reply
etrubilla
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:24 am

Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by etrubilla » Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:25 pm

So I purchased a used Taz 2 and used Cura to send the latest firmware to the machine. Before the update I had no issues but now when I start a print it makes a horrible noise when raising the Z to go out to start the print. I made sure I put in the E steps and issued the save command afterwards. I checked in the downloads section on the website and do not see a compiled version of the firmware. Does anyone have suggestions or maybe an original version of the firmware I can try to upload? Thanks in advance!

Eric T.

User avatar
piercet
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:37 am
Location: Battleground, WA
Contact:

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by piercet » Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:27 am

Try here: http://devel.lulzbot.com/TAZ/2.0/software/

The Taz 2 leadscrews are the old threaded rod ones. They had a much different zsteps than the 4 and up printers. You also may run into hotend thermistor wierdness unless thats been upgraded to a hexagon.

kmanley57
Posts: 1110
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by kmanley57 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:56 am

I believe the old printers had a slower default stepper rate in the original firmware, so it may just be trying the step too fast during the auto home command. So the firmware you installed with Cura may not have the correct rate in it when it was compiled.
I will express my CRAZY ideas at any time! So you have been warned. None of my opinions are Lulzbots and can be wrong at any second.

etrubilla
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:24 am

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by etrubilla » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:00 am

Yep that was my thought with the way the motor sounded as it was moving the z access. Of course doing manual commands from the command port it works great but when it went to "print" it did the problem. I see those files in 2013Q3/firmware. So my newbie is going to show here but how do I use those? I have 7Zip and can open them but I was assuming I would find a hex file like the firmware you can download from the lulzbot site. Thanks in advance!!!

kmanley57
Posts: 1110
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by kmanley57 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:08 pm

You can try and add the following line at the top of your gcode print file and see if that helps.

M203 X192 Y208 Z3 : Set Speed limits
I will express my CRAZY ideas at any time! So you have been warned. None of my opinions are Lulzbots and can be wrong at any second.

User avatar
piercet
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:37 am
Location: Battleground, WA
Contact:

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by piercet » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:44 pm

etrubilla wrote:
Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:00 am
Yep that was my thought with the way the motor sounded as it was moving the z access. Of course doing manual commands from the command port it works great but when it went to "print" it did the problem. I see those files in 2013Q3/firmware. So my newbie is going to show here but how do I use those? I have 7Zip and can open them but I was assuming I would find a hex file like the firmware you can download from the lulzbot site. Thanks in advance!!!
Oh, a hex file is a precompiled, unchangeable firmware, the files you see there are intended to be loaded using the Arduino loader, compiled and written to the machine. You'll want to make changes to configuration.h to include your preferred esteps value, then send the whole thing to the machine. https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/OldSoftwareReleases You may have better luck in this particular instance with the 1.0.6 version since that would have been available around the time of the Taz 2. You may be able to make a completed hex file from there as well, I've never attempted it though.

Things you may run into: missing folders or directories in the firmware that cause errors when compiling. If you run into those, let us know, we may be able to help find them.

kmanley57
Posts: 1110
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by kmanley57 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 4:01 pm

You could try this OLD prebuilt one:

https://devel.lulzbot.com/TAZ/2.1/softw ... .1.cpp.hex

YMMV.
I will express my CRAZY ideas at any time! So you have been warned. None of my opinions are Lulzbots and can be wrong at any second.

etrubilla
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:24 am

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by etrubilla » Wed Nov 08, 2017 6:53 pm

GOT IT!!! Thanks greatly for the help you are the best community! I am back up and printing!!!

User avatar
piercet
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:37 am
Location: Battleground, WA
Contact:

Re: Taz 2 Firmware fail

Post by piercet » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:22 pm

Yay! Glad you fixed it!

Post Reply