Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Help with printing with specific plastic filaments.
Narsil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:47 pm

Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by Narsil » Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:21 pm

The search function will not let me search for "1.75" so please pardon me if this has been asked before. I tried to find the answer. :roll:

I just set up my TAZ 5 and am working on my first print for our business, a test probe holder.

I have several spools of ABS and PLA left over from our first gen Replicator but they are 1.75mm diameter filament. Is the TAZ 5 capable of using this filament in addition to the 3mm?

If it can be used, where do I tell Cura (or the TAZ 5) that I'm using the 1.75mm rather than the 3mm?

Thank you!
‘‘Sure... if you're rounding Pi down to three. Please don't make me add 'rounding Pi down to three' to your list of crimes.’’
— Emperor Pius Dei

"Death is lighter than a feather, duty heavier than a mountain."
—Al'Lan Mandragoran

wantmys2000
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 11:01 am

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by wantmys2000 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:07 pm

Yup, works great with PLA. It is not supported by Lulzbot, but I have been printing a bunch of 1.75 PLA in the TAZ 5. viewtopic.php?f=36&t=1793 documents my settings. I am not a cura user, but there should be a place to set filament diameter.

Narsil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by Narsil » Tue Mar 17, 2015 10:32 pm

Excellent! Thank you!
‘‘Sure... if you're rounding Pi down to three. Please don't make me add 'rounding Pi down to three' to your list of crimes.’’
— Emperor Pius Dei

"Death is lighter than a feather, duty heavier than a mountain."
—Al'Lan Mandragoran

jebba
Site Admin
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:11 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by jebba » Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:25 pm

Yes, the all metal hot end on the TAZ 5 and the Mini is perfectly capable of printing 1.75mm ABS and PLA, with prints indistinguishable from 3mm. We have tested this on many machines and heard from customers to confirm. Or rather, the users told us, we confirmed. ;)

-Jeff

Narsil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 8:47 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by Narsil » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:26 pm

Thank you, Jebba!
‘‘Sure... if you're rounding Pi down to three. Please don't make me add 'rounding Pi down to three' to your list of crimes.’’
— Emperor Pius Dei

"Death is lighter than a feather, duty heavier than a mountain."
—Al'Lan Mandragoran

discojon
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by discojon » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:11 pm

jebba wrote:Yes, the all metal hot end on the TAZ 5 and the Mini is perfectly capable of printing 1.75mm ABS and PLA, with prints indistinguishable from 3mm. We have tested this on many machines and heard from customers to confirm. Or rather, the users told us, we confirmed. ;)

-Jeff
Confirmed but not supported, correct? the only issue I could see is filament pushing upward out of the hotend and forming a hard clog higher up.
TAZ 5, Open rails X,Y,Z. Marlin 1.1 RC2. Mangrove dual fan, reinforced extruder mount

jebba
Site Admin
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:11 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by jebba » Fri Mar 20, 2015 10:13 pm

discojon wrote:Confirmed but not supported, correct?
We'll want some more miles on this before we call it "supported", but it is working great that we've seen.
discojon wrote:the only issue I could see is filament pushing upward out of the hotend and forming a hard clog higher up.
Have you actually seen this in printing 1.75mm or you think it is possible?

Thanks,

-Jeff

discojon
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by discojon » Sat Mar 21, 2015 5:00 am

jebba wrote:
discojon wrote:Confirmed but not supported, correct?
We'll want some more miles on this before we call it "supported", but it is working great that we've seen.
discojon wrote:the only issue I could see is filament pushing upward out of the hotend and forming a hard clog higher up.
Have you actually seen this in printing 1.75mm or you think it is possible?

Thanks,

-Jeff
I haven't tried any 1.75 yet since I sold all 14 spools I had with my old printer. So at this point its just a theory.
TAZ 5, Open rails X,Y,Z. Marlin 1.1 RC2. Mangrove dual fan, reinforced extruder mount

jebba
Site Admin
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:11 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by jebba » Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:35 pm

discojon wrote:I haven't tried any 1.75 yet since I sold all 14 spools I had with my old printer. So at this point its just a theory.
OK, we don't have any reports of this that I know of.

discojon
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 1:54 pm

Re: Can the TAZ 5 use 1.75mm dia. filament?

Post by discojon » Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:18 pm

jebba wrote:
discojon wrote:I haven't tried any 1.75 yet since I sold all 14 spools I had with my old printer. So at this point its just a theory.
OK, we don't have any reports of this that I know of.
Good. I really hope 1.75 works out. Much better selection available I feel like.
TAZ 5, Open rails X,Y,Z. Marlin 1.1 RC2. Mangrove dual fan, reinforced extruder mount

Post Reply