ABS Aggressive Sticking to Print Bed - HELP!

Greetings fellow 3D printer enthusiasts!

I’m new to 3D printing, having just received my Lulzbot Mini last week. Before my printer arrived I had arbitrarily pre-ordered a roll of ABS as it seemed like that was one of the more popular 3D print materials. I am now learning that ABS takes quite a bit of tweaking to get a good print.

One of the issues I’m having is that my prints are aggressively sticking to the print plate. So mush so, that sometimes I damage my prints in the removal process, or am afraid I am causing some damage to my printer and/or print surface.

What do you guys recommend to help mitigate this issue?

I purchases some PET tape (1mil thickness), but haven’t tried it yet. Do you guys recommend using PET tape? If so, do I need to make any adjustments to my printer (i.e. adjust the Z etc. etc.) or in the Cura software to compensate for the PET tape?

Appreciate your assistance.

EDIT: I’m using IC3D High Quality Green 3mm ABS (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TVL4R2G)

Add a little positive z offset in the slicer. You are probably squishing the plastic onto the build surface a little too much. I adjust the z offset in 0.1mm steps when I am working with a new plastic. The PEI build surface on the mini is far better than PET tape so, stick with it.

Hi nopick, thanks for the reply.

When you say “in the slicer,” are you referring to the Cura software?

What about print bed temp upon removal? Do you recommend a certain temperature, or is room temperature sufficient?