PLA from Filaments.ca

Good day everyone,

I just received my TAZ 6 last Friday and it is amazing! I have some questions about filaments that are not from Lulzbot.

Everything is printing fine with the nGen they provided me with, but when I used a PLA filament from Filaments.ca I was unable to get decent results. I did 2 prints with different settings and both had pretty much the same problems, some layers are oozing a bit and the pieces break at 2-3 mm (25 microns layers) when I take them off.

My first try was with Cura’s recommendation for PLA which are 205C and 60C for hot end and bed respectively. Second one was 225C and 70C. Note that for my second print, it started at 230C and 85C for some reasons, the temperatures I had put in the Advanced interface didn’t go through because it was still using the Lulzbot nGen Quick print settings. I had to override those temp in the control board mid-print. I think that may be why my second print broke there.

I’m no expert with PLA, I never use it, but it looks to me like it’s far too hot. 225 seems excessive. Try drop it down to 180/190 and see if that works. Also do you have the fan on?

I’ll run some prints with different temperatures to try to find the sweet spot. I think my fans were on yes, but I’ll make sure they are when I do the testing. Thanks for your input!

Edit: I made sure the fans were on, there was a weird problem. Min and Max fan speed were 80% and 100%, but the LCD screen is showing 57% for some reason… Also do you guys know at what height I should enable the fans?

Hello, I have tested a lots of filament from there and it’s really good quality (better that esun filament sell by lulzbot, in my opinion).

I setup the bed @ 60°, the nozzle between 205° and 225°, depending of the colour. I don’t know why but usually darker colors require a little bit heat.

Is your bed clean ? If you printed other materials, such as ABS, PLA sometimes doesn’t stick. Clean your bed with isopropyl alcohol if it’s the case.