Heat Creep on Taz 6 Single Extruder 2.1 - anyone else?

Help with printing with specific plastic filaments.
stefapock

Heat Creep on Taz 6 Single Extruder 2.1 - anyone else?

Post by stefapock » Sun Dec 18, 2016 5:42 pm

Hey there,

I'm having trouble finding a solution in the threads out there so I figured I'd post here.

I seem to be having a heat creep issue similar to this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=4200&start=10

The filament seems to be eaten into until the gears cannot grab anything anymore and wont extrude downward.

The above thread states the problem is solved, but the problem is for a Taz5 and though I ordered the same fan and printed the same piece (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1461335), the piece does not fit my extruder which is a Single Extruder V2.1

Has anyone experienced heatcreep with the same models as mine and found a good solution? Perhaps a modified version of the piece that fits a 2.1?

I'm a beginner here so I welcome any pointers or calling out my dumb questions =) cheers!

CoParaTech

Re: Heat Creep on Taz 6 Single Extruder 2.1 - anyone else?

Post by CoParaTech » Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:48 pm

Filament jams can be caused by a number of things. Your Taz 6 has a 40mm filament fan on it already, so that's most likely not the problem, assuming it is working properly. To more accurately diagnose the problem, we'll need to look into the type of filament being used, the type of part being printed, which slicer you are using, and what your settings are.

stefapock

Post by stefapock » Sun Dec 18, 2016 7:29 pm

CoParaTech wrote:Filament jams can be caused by a number of things. Your Taz 6 has a 40mm filament fan on it already, so that's most likely not the problem, assuming it is working properly. To more accurately diagnose the problem, we'll need to look into the type of filament being used, the type of part being printed, which slicer you are using, and what your settings are.