Heat Creep on Taz 6 Single Extruder 2.1 - anyone else?

Hey there,

I’m having trouble finding a solution in the threads out there so I figured I’d post here.

I seem to be having a heat creep issue similar to this thread:
https://forum.lulzbot.com/t/adjustable-heat-bed-glass-mount/38/1

The filament seems to be eaten into until the gears cannot grab anything anymore and wont extrude downward.

The above thread states the problem is solved, but the problem is for a Taz5 and though I ordered the same fan and printed the same piece (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1461335), the piece does not fit my extruder which is a Single Extruder V2.1

Has anyone experienced heatcreep with the same models as mine and found a good solution? Perhaps a modified version of the piece that fits a 2.1?

I’m a beginner here so I welcome any pointers or calling out my dumb questions =) cheers!

Filament jams can be caused by a number of things. Your Taz 6 has a 40mm filament fan on it already, so that’s most likely not the problem, assuming it is working properly. To more accurately diagnose the problem, we’ll need to look into the type of filament being used, the type of part being printed, which slicer you are using, and what your settings are.

Of course. I am using Cura 21.00, white PLA filament with default standard settings except for a 15% infill setting instead of 20% (needed to speed up my print). The part I am printing is actually 10 miniature container ships for a client (one STL file multiplied and spaced out into 10 rectangular shapes). I’ve had 3 failed prints in a row, all of which begin printing okay then about an hour in the filament seems to have the ‘eating away issue’ where the filament does not seem to want to go through the extruder, then it gets stuck and the gears grind away at one part of the filament and eats away at it.