Introduction and questions about Nylon

Hello,
New to the forum. Just about decided on buying a TAZ6 for personal use, haven’t pulled the trigger. I am designer in automotive related industry. I have many years of experience already with dimension 1200 and makerbot. Also objet polyjet.

I am not a 3D printing tinkerer per say (yet), I’ve just used the machines the way they come, but I’m not afraid to tinker of course…I plan to print functional nylon parts for RC hobby that can take abuse. Am I buying the wrong machine? I know I will need an enclosure at the very least. What other hurdles will I have? What nylon and parameters do you recommend to start? I’m not interested in PLA and only slightly interested in ABS. It’s really about nylon for me.

Thanks,
Jesse

It occurs to me PC ABS may be a good option. Discuss :slight_smile:

So, I’m not sure how to edit my posts or I wouldn’t keep double posting…

Looking at 910 and bridge, I think they may both be too flexible for my purposes.

Thoughts?

ABS should be fine. Its cheap, durable and good for prototyping. I print my parts at .3 layer height to prototype then .1 - .2 for final parts.

PLA is also a good starting filament. You won’t have to deal with the warping of ABS. And you’ll get sharper corners. Its strong also. The only drawback is the low melting temp. So if you leave the part in the car on a hot summer day, good possibility it will deform.

Hi. I’m also interested in this.
Can there be a guide? For beginners or something like that.
It would be great. If there is information, give a link to the forum :wink:
Thanks in advance.