Starting a 30 hour Dragon 3D Print

I upgraded to Simply3D today…and decided to go big. So I just started a 28-hour (it estimates) 3D print. If it is anything like Cura…it will probably be closer to 38. LOL.

Can’t wait to see how it turns out. The test print I did earlier with Simplify3D looked great…so thought I would give those support structures a real run for their money. :slight_smile:

About 10 hours in…and things are looking fairly good. Since I am new to simplify3D I am not quite sure how to get smooth filled in tops of infill areas (you can see what I am saying in the flat shield parts of this) But I love their support structures which this REALLY needed… I will keep you posted. :slight_smile: Oh and the “bend” you see in the middle of the side part of the shield was actually an imperfection in the model…pretty amazing the printers are so good that even the slightest variation in a curve will show. :slight_smile:

Regarding the top solid infill, it looks like you have not enough top layers? What’s the setting for their amount?

I’m intrested in pictures of the finished, cleaned part - from below looking up :slight_smile: Up to know I know everyone is talking about the nice supports Simplify does, but most only show pictures from angles where the supported surfaces are not shown…

S3d is awesome, love it and I have found their support structures vastly improve my print quality. The pic attached is a before and after clean up Minions chess set (chess set was designed by Steve Haines, got it off grabcad). The hair, arms and legs improved because of the supports with this print, they’re pretty much flawless, even the little fingers on the hands.