Trouble all of a sudden

A forum dedicated to the stock LulzBot TAZ 3D Printer
Post Reply
Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sat Mar 14, 2015 1:51 pm

Hello All,

OK, so I've been printing stuff since I got my TAZ 5 on Thursday and this (see images) is the first real issue I've had since some initial problems mostly because of my ignorance.

The funny thing is that this is the second time for this some problem. At first I thought maybe I'm having extruder issues. So I took off the extruder and did some checking ala mhackney's reply in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1839
No problems; in fact everything inside the extruder and hotend looked really good. No sharp edges or anything.

The funny thing is that the second time this happened, I realized that not only was it happening at the EXACT same location as the first time, but (again see image) Repetier-Host is showing RED in the same area as the "fail". That can't be a coincidence. Right? There must be something that Repetier-Host is trying to tell me.

Please advise. Thanks!
Attachments
2015-03-14_15-29-55.png
Screen shot of Repetier-Host showing the issue.
IMG_0881.JPG
This is where I stopped the print.
IMG_0884.JPG
This is a purge to see if the extruder was still feeding. Hershey kiss is because I hit 50mm squirt instead of 10mm.

Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sat Mar 14, 2015 2:31 pm

OK, looking around in RH, I found this, but I'm not sure which red issue I'm looking at, but if I load up the gcode file in RH I don't see the red, so I'll assume that it's not a model issue.
Attachments
2015-03-14_16-24-21.jpg
They have red as a model issue, but I don't see that in the gcode file.
2015-03-14_16-26-06.jpg
This red is showing me a hot filament? how does it know?

Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sat Mar 14, 2015 3:35 pm

OK,

SO I tried again, and fail again! This time much earlier, on the first part ( I tried to just print one at a time). Also after looking at RH while printing it seems that the "Red" shown is just what it says: "hot filament". It's just an indication of what filament that is laid down is still hot.

I changed two things (I know, I know, bad idea) from last night (perfect prints):

1. Sliced in KISSlicer V1.4.5.10 instead of V1.1.0
2. Also went from Pronterface to Repetier-Host. Not sure why one would be any different than the other. Interpreting the same code.!?.

Now I'm trying another single part slicer in 1.4.5.10 but from PF. We'll see if that makes a difference.

User avatar
mhackney
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:57 pm
Location: Groton, MA
Contact:

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by mhackney » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:15 pm

So, that red is RH's way of showing you what filament was just printed and hot. It will slowly fade and follows the nozzle. It is just eye candy and doesn't tell you much.

It looks like the first layer is going very thin - is that the issue you are having?

Your going back to the other version of KISS and try PF again too will eliminate those but I don't think they are the issue. That really looks like a mechanical Z axis or something on X carriage issue. I say that because the perimeters are consistently and correctly thick but the infill just simply thins out. That tells me that the nozzle is "sinking down" for some reason.

Another test... Rotate the part 90° in Kiss, reslice and print. Where does the problem show up now if at all? This is a good way to diagnose mechanical issues (rotating and printing).
Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start here:
A Strategy for Obtaining Great Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:47 pm

In the images above what your seeing is the first layer of the first piece is fine, but when filling the first layer of the second piece it just starts thinning out!

Right now I'm printing a single piece, and so far, all is well. I'm still using the gcode from the 1.4.5.10 KISSlicer, but I'm using PF. Next I'll try a single piece with the same code in RH and see what happens.

Mike, (or anyone) do you agree that PF vs HR should make no difference? It's running the same gcode.
Or is it like a CNC machine; the NCI code is post processed to NC code where, in this case, PF and RH would "intemperate" the code differently.

User avatar
mhackney
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:57 pm
Location: Groton, MA
Contact:

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by mhackney » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:49 pm

Yes, the controller should make no difference.

Print from SD card = print from Pronteface = print from Repeater host = print from Matter Control

There should be no difference.

The gcode interpreter is the firmware. This is different than, say, Mach 3 for CNC. Mach actually does the gcode interpretation along with machine control.
Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start here:
A Strategy for Obtaining Great Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sat Mar 14, 2015 4:53 pm

Great! Thanks Mike. I'll post after this print but all looks good!

Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sun Mar 15, 2015 5:49 pm

OK, so a couple of prints that are "great" and then...

It seems as though every once in a while this thing goes into starvation mode! :x

See pix.
The first image shows two that were printed and "looked fine", except afterwards the left half of the bottom face of the one tilted up kind of ripped off. So I went to print another and enter starvation mode. What the heck is going on?
What's weird to me is, the one I built previous to this (the one that the bottom ripped off) printed perfectly after an apparent starved first layer!

???
Attachments
IMG_0886.JPG
Slight tare-out of bottom.
IMG_0887.JPG
IMG_0888.JPG

User avatar
mhackney
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:57 pm
Location: Groton, MA
Contact:

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by mhackney » Sun Mar 15, 2015 5:56 pm

That's a very abrupt stoppage of filament flow. The filament must be getting stopped/jammed in some way. When this happens can you stop the print, leave everything up to temp, raise about 20mm or so (move up on Z) and then unlatch the extruder and attempt to push the filament by hand? Feel and look to see if it will come out the nozzle or if it feels jammed. Report back.
Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start here:
A Strategy for Obtaining Great Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Muggs
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Trouble all of a sudden

Post by Muggs » Sun Mar 15, 2015 6:00 pm

Mike,

No, what you're seeing is an OK, not great, second layer on top of the starved first layer.
I'll try again and do as you say, if I encounter the same issue.

Thanks.

Post Reply