First Layer

Im in need of help to get a better first layer. the attached photo of a pla print was originally face down on my taz5. How can I improve this print as this is the side I need to look good.

Hello gemmark. Did you read my Guides linked in my signature? They will help you with a strategy to get the great prints you are looking for. This looks like a typical case of “first layer blues” - a combination of a too low nozzle at Z=0 and poorly prepared build surface. There may be some extrusion issue mixed in there too.

Was this your first print? How much experience do you have?

On PEI, I print PLA and get absolutely flawless bottom surfaces 100% of the time for the 3D printed fly reels I manufacture. It can be done and you are already a big step in the right direction with a PEI bed and TAZ 5.

I have not had the opportunity to read the entire guide, but did skim through it. I have very little experience with this printer but very eager to learn. The build plate was heated to the suggested temp and it seems to be level. I did print the rocktopuss as a first print and did notice a similar first layer but not as poor as my file. In a quick summary, what would you suggest?

Mark

Read my guides and follow them :slight_smile:

First, set the Z height properly. I’d reads it up by .02mm and retry. Keep doing this until the first layer looks good. Best to use my single layer object rather than your print, just to save time and filament. If you can’t get the simple single layer object to print nicely with a Z layer change (by far the most common issue) then we need to be systematic and go through the Guide.

Are you using Slic3r?

If you are, there’s a specific setting you can adjust for the first layer. You can make it bigger or smaller in height than all other layers. It’s completely customizable to your needs.

Also - are you using the material profiles that Lulzbot provides?