TAZ 5 Stops

A forum dedicated to the stock LulzBot TAZ 3D Printer
Rookie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:34 pm

TAZ 5 Stops

Post by Rookie » Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:49 pm

After 23 hours my print was ~98% complete when it stopped. This is the second time that I have printed this part and both times it stopped in the same spot around the same time frame. I have only had the printer for 2 weeks and have printed a bigger part.
Image
.
Image
.
Image

User avatar
piercet
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:37 am
Location: Battleground, WA
Contact:

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by piercet » Mon Jul 06, 2015 8:24 pm

Would it have been around 1 am +/- 2 hours when it stopped? If so does your computer sometimes lose its graphics for a second right around then and do you have an nvidia graphics card? You may be hitting the nightly patching check.. It also could be a variety of other connection and computer issues. Try printing it from the SD card to isolate it to the printer. Also post the St file here. There may be a flaw in the model that is confusing your computer.

Rookie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by Rookie » Mon Jul 06, 2015 8:49 pm

Thanks, I have been printing from the SD card. How would I attach/upload the STL file?

tmorris9
Posts: 306
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by tmorris9 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:43 pm

When you post (or reply) you will see a tab that says Upload Attachment. Just click on that and choose the file.

Rookie
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 6:34 pm

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by Rookie » Tue Jul 07, 2015 6:55 am

Hope this works. I'm sending from my phone.
Attachments
KX05736B06-MOUNT BRACKET-LHS Item 1.stl
(1.01 MiB) Downloaded 62 times

kmanley57
Posts: 1110
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by kmanley57 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 7:29 am

The model does have a few errors in it, one of which is about at the height your print is stopping at. So you could try fixing it with Netfab and then re-slicing it and reprinting it to see if that will fix your issue.
I will express my CRAZY ideas at any time! So you have been warned. None of my opinions are Lulzbots and can be wrong at any second.

nopick
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:14 am

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by nopick » Tue Jul 07, 2015 7:33 am

Here is the Netfabb repaired part. I hope that helps. Having a print stop after that long is painful!
Attachments
KX05736B06-MOUNT BRACKET-LHS Item 1 (repaired).stl
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 67 times

wmgeorge64
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by wmgeorge64 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:49 am

Would Simplify 3D have found and corrected the error?.
ULS Laser . Retired master Electrician in Iowa USA Lots of Hobbies

nopick
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:14 am

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by nopick » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:09 am

It is hard to say. I have found a couple parts that fail when sliced in S3D but Slic3r has no problem with them.

kcchen_00
Posts: 1705
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:42 am

Re: TAZ 5 Stops

Post by kcchen_00 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:09 pm

Yeah... S3D is hit or miss sometimes with the healing.

Pumping the original model into S3D... It detects some issues with the original model, but seems to heal and slice successfully. No issues with simulating the print in the preview. No telling if it would really print on the printer though...

The repaired model does much better... all watertight, but still has a section of intersecting faces on the side. Slices and print simulation looks fine...

Post Reply