Temperature not keeping up

Im new to printing and currently using Cura with a used Taz 3 I bought on craigslist. Printing seems to be fine, however, the temperature initially set to about 200C (which is what I set) but now it seems to stay somewhere around 182C. I tried setting it higher to 210 but its staying around 182C

That usually indicates a damaged thermistor or heater core, or a printer that is inside a freezer. You will likely need to replace the heater core, but double check with an inexpensive point and shoot infrared thermometer that what the hot end thinks it is at is actually the correct temperature. You can get spares of the buddaschnozzle hot end thermistor and heater core from I-T-W.com, though they appear to be out of the heater cores.

Im doing another print at 200C and it seems to be holding at 199C just fine.

Could be a cable short then, or something wierd that fixed itself. Usually that indicates an electrical issue though.

jaded,

Does the temperature reach the expected level (210C) and then fall off or does it never reach 210C? How modified is the Taz 3? (What type of hotend do you have?)

put up a photo of the hotend - is the fan air pointing towards the heater block too much perhaps?

Try less fan. Or try the quick experiment: get the hotend to temp with no fan, then turn the fan to 100%, and monitor the hotend temp.

If the fan is causing the drop in hotend temp, then the heater cartridge is probably going. Get a spare heater cartridge online… i-t-w would be my first stop… okay, just checked they don’t sell just the heater cartridge. Makerfarm has the 24W 40A which should work… you’ll need connectors or splice in from old cartridge…