TAZ Slic3r profiles

A forum dedicated to the stock LulzBot TAZ 3D Printer
Post Reply
User avatar
Orias
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 1339
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:24 pm
Location: US

TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by Orias » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:41 pm

We have some new Slic3r profiles available for those wanting a starting point in Slic3r. There are 3 main profiles: fast, medium and fine. Each of the three have two options, either with support turned on, and set for autosupport, or support turned off and set with the standard 45 degree overhang threshold.

They can be found here: https://www.lulzbot.com/support/taz-slic3r-profiles

To view the contents of each profile simply click on them. Your browser should display the contents. To save the profile right click on the profile you would like and select "Save as". Once saved to a memorable location, load the configuration file in Slic3r by selecting File > Import Config.

johnschneider89
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:37 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by johnschneider89 » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:58 pm

THANK-YOU for this! I'm using the medium, no support config and my TAZ is actually turning out respectable prints now!

I'm printing in LulzBot PLA using devzero's fan duct: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:147966

newelltech
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:42 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by newelltech » Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:38 am

Where are all the profiles? I only show one.

nopick
Posts: 939
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:14 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by nopick » Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:26 pm

They took the rest of them down because they did not produce quality parts. They are working on new ones and posting them as they are completed. Jebba posted about it earlier in another thread.

http://forum.lulzbot.com/viewtopic.php? ... 3466#p3466

DAP
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:52 pm

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by DAP » Sat Nov 19, 2016 3:56 pm

Hmm, Hasn't been updated since 2014.

Does anyone have slic3r profiles for the TAZ 6? I need a good starting point, something to make sure the bed size & origin is correct, and has the autoleveling code.

Brent.I
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 8:21 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by Brent.I » Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:24 pm

You can pull the start and end Gcode from our Cura profiles to ensure you have the bed leveling routine set properly. The machine settings will also be in Cura located under Machine > Machine Settings.

You can use these settings as a base profile for any slicing program out there.

DAP
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:52 pm

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by DAP » Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:18 pm

Brent.I wrote:You can pull the start and end Gcode from our Cura profiles to ensure you have the bed leveling routine set properly. The machine settings will also be in Cura located under Machine > Machine Settings.

You can use these settings as a base profile for any slicing program out there.
It was not quite as simple as copying the start and end code. Both Cura and Slic3r have strings in their start code that get substituted with numbers by the software, but they use different strings, and different ways of denoting strings.
For example, the line in cura gcode: "M140 S{print_bed_temperature}; get bed heating up" must be changed in Slic3r to "M140 S[first_layer_bed_temperature] ; get bed heating up"

In any case, I was able to configure Slic3r properly and print a small test print with it without breaking my printer.

BTW, Slic3r is not a wisiwig tool. I found that what it displayed in the preview was not the same as what was actually printed. The specific example of this is that I set loops (minimum) to 1 the skirt height to 5 layers, and the minimum extrusion length to 15mm, with this, the preview showed about 5 rings of skirt for the 1st 5 layers of the print, but what actually printed was the first layer with 5 rings, and the remaining 4 layers with just a single ring. This is what I actually wanted, but it would be nice if the preview showed this correctly.

Post Reply