What causes this kind of bad print

3D printing noob here. I have a Taz 5 that a friend of mine is letting me borrow to play around with. I set it up and printed the octopus just fine. One project I’ve always wanted to do was to print the parts needed to build a cnc machine. Does anyone have an idea as to what would cause this? I had the temp set to 230 and the bed was at 50 printing at 100% speed. If I tried to print at 200 it acts like it struggles to get any material to come out of the extruder. I’ve backed the material out and pushed it through manually to make sure there wasn’t a full blown clog.

This is the part I’m prining.

This is what came out this morning.

Looks like over extrusion. Check to make sure nozzle diameter and filament diameter is correct.

I assume I’ll need to physically check them? Is there a setting I should check as well? I’m going to update the firmware tonight and see if that helps with anything too.

I think I may have found an issue. I downloaded the latest Cura software and added a Taz 5. I was saving the gcode files to an SD card and printing from there. If I try to connect Cura to the printer it tells me the wrong printer was detected. Looking at the serial number this is not a Taz 5 but a Taz 2. I don’t see Taz 2 in the Cura add printer section. Do I have to use a different piece of software since Cura doesn’t have a Taz 2 option?

There should be a setting in cura that allows you to specify the nozzle size and filament diameter. Typically, Taz printers use 3mm so you can safely put 2.85 mm and go from there.

Also check that the E-steps are set correctly. This value is printed on the back of the (older) tool heads. If you can’t find it, then you may have to calibrate it yourself.

You might also mention what kind of filament you are using. We can’t tell if 230 degrees is too high, too low, or just right without knowing what the filament is.