Dual V3 - A Review - Wait for V4? - Heat Creep Still A Problem

I am new to 3D printing as of April 2018. This post is mainly for those interested in acquiring the Dual V3 who also have little experience with 3D printing. It includes my troubleshooting processes and general tips/gotchas. My intention in purchasing the Dual V3 was to print PLA + PVA (Polydissolve in my case). Let my 70+ hours of testing save you some time.

Bottomline: I would either wait for the Dual V4 or be willing to replace a fan on the Dual V3 to solve its heat creep issue. I have returned my Dual V3 after a month of attempts. However, know that plenty of people ARE having success with the V3.

Note that I had printed with the single head for a month with no real issues. I was super impressed with how well the Taz 6 with the single head worked out of the box. I went from the first sample print to being productive immediately. Unfortunately, I didnā€™t have the same out of the box success with the Dual V3. With a few tweaks to solve heat creep and easier loading of filament, I expect Lulzbotā€™s Dual V4 will be solid.

We picked up a Dual V3 for our Taz 6 near end of May. I checked the serial number to ensure sure it wasnā€™t going to have the thermal runaway problems of the early shipments. See service bulletin: https://www.lulzbot.com/sites/default/files/Thermistor_Service_Bulletin_2.pdf

MY SETUP:
Dual V3
Taz 6
Cura: v3.2.21
Marlin Firmware v1.1.8.59

PLA + PVA
I started with Lulzbotā€™s example ā€œimpossible gearsā€. The first attempt failed (I donā€™t recall why). The second attempt was successful. Both prints used eSunā€™s PLA+ and Polymakerā€™s Polydissovle S1. I had the PLA in Extruder 1 (E1 - left) and the Polydissolve in Extruder 2 (E2 - right).