Have issues and been fiddling with it for 3 weeks

Hello. I am new to the 3d printer world, and have been fiddling with my Taz6 trying to get it to work properly, and I am close.
I am finally close to have X and Y being printed the same on a test cube, currently 20.24mm and 20.17mm. Still would like to get it closer. I have a bad elephant foot problem, and when I adjust the base layer, it seems to screw the rest of the print up. And when I do a print of the test cube, it has layers going out of place. The belt is tight, but does not bind the travel of the print bed. I built the adjustable belt tensioner for it as my X and Y were way more off. Any ideas? Thank you.

Right stop fiddling!
Check your E-Steps on your extruder- you might be over extruding filament- sounds complicated, is in fact very easy to fix- there is a how to do it on this website. (took me ten minutes to do, oh you’ll need a felt tip marker for that one)
Recheck your STL file by going to Netfabb online service (there is a free version of it without having to download anything- search for it on these forums- my old messages about it have an exact link to it directly)
Sometimes when you move a file from Cura to the printer- some of the information is lost or just not there- Netfabb is able to replace it and correct small mistakes- useful tool.
Check that the profile for the material your using is correct- look correct by the photo’s- how ever you might have to tweak the parameters slightly, the bed/extruder temperature a degree or two lower or higher.
If its a mechanical problem- don’t touch it until you have spoken to the help line/email contact address at Lulzbot, they where very useful for me when i first started.

I think olantigh may have forgotten to add the link he mentioned, but here is the link I think he was referring to: https://ohai.lulzbot.com/project/fine-tune-mini-extruder/calibration/