Lutzbot TAZ 6 Printer Nozzle Drags back through print

I am somewhat new to 3D printing giving that I "inherited’ a TAZ 6 from a previous teacher (I teach engineering at our local HS). I have printed several things without fail, then I started seeing the nozzle drag through the material at the start of the print. I have not been able to correct this.

You can see where the plastic was just bulldozed aside in the picture. What could be wrong here? This is consistent across the part so leveling should not be involved.

couple of things to look at.

you need to raise the offset a bit, the print is far too squished

what slicer are you using? in Cura there is a z hop and a setting to avoid printed parts with travel movements

start with those and let me know

I thought is was far too squished as well and that is what bothered me. Once you get past this initial problem, it prints quite well and clean. I will look at the offset and the hop. It may be a couple of days but I need to get this solved as I have a backlog of printing to do! lol

Okay, I have found the Hop settings in Cura. But I have not found the Z offset. Can someone point me in the right direction? That first layer I posted has a literal groove down the middle of the filament. So there is definitely a z-axis issue here.

You may want to first try manually cleaning off the nozzle. It’s likely there is material on the nozzle and that’s making the printer think the bed is lower than it actually is.

We recommend using a non conductive scotch brite pad as anything metal that comes in contact with the nozzle risks sending a static shock to the board.

If your first layer is still too high you can adjust the z-offset for you printer. The z-offset is the distance from the top of the leveling washer to the top of the PEI print surface and affects how tall your first layer is.

This can be done through the LCD menu by clicking the LCD knob in once to bring up the main menu then navigating to: