No extrusion - etching on printer bed

When I started a recent print with PLA, the filament stopped extruding almost immediately and the bed became etched in the pattern the hot end followed until I stopped the print. Its not deep, but is enough that the pattern now appears on the bottom of everything I print.

Is there a way to remove this, short of buying a new bed? is there something I needed to do to prevent it in the future? I’m still new to this but followed the instructions as I’d done on previous successful prints, and verified the printer was up to temperature extruding OK before I started the print.

Thanks for any advice or recommendations.

I had the same thing happen to me, and am also curious about the best way to go about repairing it, as well as prevent it…

Although my printing has of yet, needed PLA, but I’ve stayed away from PLA just because of the clogging issues I’ve read about with LB’s…

I would guess that mine happened when my hotend “clogged”, or in better terms “hydro-locked”… and the knurled bolt dug into and carved away at the filament…

Weird because it was with ABS… To fix it, I heated the hotend as hot as it would go… Pulled the old stuff out, cut about a foot off the reel I was using, and fed a butt-ton of filament through it…

I’ve since finally landed some E-Sun cleaner filament<-- seems gimmicky to me, but whatever… I’ll give it a go…

The beds I have ran across with the PEI plastic ‘etched’ like that I have had to pull the old PEI and clean off the adhesive then reapplied a new sheet of PEI on the clean glass plate. The nozzle kind of puts the groove into the adhesive also while damaging the plastic sheet.

So just replacing the PEI leaves the grove in the adhesive which will still show underneath, but may be good enough to not show up on the parts. But I have found that the adhesive damage tends to cause the sheet to not adhere very well anymore there.