Printing Mini Spare Parts?

The elementary school class I gave the Mini to is excited about printing spare parts for their printer. They (and I) are total newbs at this. We have some PLA, and several rolls of HIPS. I’m going to buy one roll of ABS for the class to print the spare parts from.

I’ve heard the quality can vary among different suppliers. It looks as though the Lulzbot store only stocks Village Plastics ABS. Is that a good one to use for this? Any reason to consider another brand? Normally, we’d be pretty sensitive to cost - working on an elementary school budget here. However, since this is likely just one roll of ABS we’re buying, and since these are working parts, I’d be willing to spring for some better quality material for them to use on this, if it makes a difference. Any recommendations? (Also, if any colors are known to be more problem free, I’d appreciate hearing that.)

Also, any tips on getting these parts to print out with the best results? We seem to have the printer dialed in fairly well after it’s recent head crash into the print bed. At least things are coming out at the dimensions we specify (some holes are slightly undersize, but I guess that’s better than holes coming out oversize), things look fairly clean and have good layer and bed adhesion (though we’ve only printed with PLA so far). Should we just use one of the standard quickprint ABS profiles? If so, which one? OR might it be better to customize some settings? Do some parts (gears?) need to be printed on a higher-quality setting than others?

Any tips on post-print processing to clean things up, would also be appreciated.

I’m sure there are threads out there on this, but we’re new enough to this that we must not be searching on the right terms.

Villiage plastic ABS is good, I use it alot. it can be hard to get ahold of from the lulzbot store sometimes. I also use Push Plastic ABS, which comes in a 6lb roll for the same price as the 5lb one from Lulzbot, which is nice.