Newbie Question: Removing Lines

I am a complete novice and only use PLA. It seems that every model I print is riddled with lines even if I use the high-detail setting on Cura 2.6.6. Is there any way to minimize this?

ALso, I only use 5% setting for support but it is very difficult to remove it regardless of the type of PLA I’m using.

HELP!

v/r

There are a couple different things that can cause lines in your print. Can you post a couple pictures so we can get a better idea of what the root of the issue might be? Also does this happen across multiple files? If not maybe post the .STL too so it can get checked for errors.

Below are 3 photos that represent the majority of my problem.

TIA

It is hard to see all the features and I’m not sure what the design is supposed to look like… But I’ll throw out a few suggestions based on what I can see.

The slight “bulges” that occur on the perimeter in the same XY location for multiple layers, forming a vertical line, look like typical “blobs” that often occur at the start and/or end of perimeters. Increasing retraction amount or retraction speed may help resolve them. Decreasing print temperature slightly may also help. Aligning them all to one corner (via Cura2’s “Shell, Z-Seam alignment, User Specified” setting) may make them less noticeable, since it can place them all in one line instead of having them randomly appear in different places every few layers.

The “echo” effect, particularly noticeable on round feature in the second photo, often comes from speed/acceleration being too high but if you are using the Lulzbot-provided Cura profiles then those speeds should be OK. A loose belt can also cause features like that, so check your belt tensions. The belts should make a “twang” noise when plucked like a guitar string. While checking belts, check that the set-screws on the pulleys that drive the belts are also tight.