Newb getting started

Hello, I am a total newbie to 3D printing and I just purchased a Lulzbot Mini and I am excited to start printing!

I printed out the rocktopus with the standard settings (with green PLA provided) and it turned out pretty nice.

A few things that I noticed were that it had quite a bit of stringing and also it seemed like the nozzle might be too close to the bed. This was evident because the skirting appeared flattened as if the nozzle was spreading it out as it extruded, instead of a nice clean filament trace.

I cleaned the nozzle and made sure there was no fuzz from the felt pad before printing, but after a few other test prints, the skirting still appears flattened.

Wondering if anyone has any suggestions regarding the stringing and flat skirting?

Thank you!

It’s maybe okay for the first layer to be flattened a bit - that’s good for sticking it down - it’s hard to know if it is too much without seeing.

You are correct that one cause could be that the the nozzle isn’t getting clean. (If it isn’t clean it can push down harder on the washers and then it will “think” the bed is lower than it really is. If you watch the washer corners during bed leveling, then you should not see the washers move when the nozzle taps them.)

Of course you can also experiment with some slicer settings. You could try to change “initial layer thickness” and see if it helps - I think the default is to have the first layer thicker than the rest. The tooltip for this setting in cura says having a thicker first layer will help it to stick more, but I usually change it so it matches other layers and that still sticks fine for me. (I’m sure there are other settings to look at also.)

For stringing you might try to lower the temperature slightly (a few degrees)… Retraction settings might be more complicated, but just some ideas if you want to play around and see the effects.