Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

A forum dedicated to the stock LulzBot Mini 3D Printer
Post Reply
PlastiBots
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:09 pm

Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by PlastiBots » Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:08 am

I've currently got a Mini with this setup and thinking of selling mine for the new and improved, but I'd like OctoPrint to remotely manage prints from my tablet / computers. Has anyone setup a Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

fastrobplus
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:57 am

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by fastrobplus » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:15 am

I have a Mini 1 and a Taz 6 each with with OctoPrint servers. There's no reason OctoPrint wouldn't work on a Mini 2. I use Cura on my laptop to actually do the slicing. If the idea is to slice and manage the prints using OctoPrint, I assume you'll need to export a Mini 2 profile of some kind into OctoPrint (I think this can also be done by Cura?) but I dont both with that. I use OctoPrint to wirelessly receive the gcode file from my laptop/Cura, manage the print queue, drive the printer, and monitor the print over video and I think that's probably how most use it.

PlastiBots
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:09 pm

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by PlastiBots » Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 am

Thanks for the info. I was hoping to hear from someone who has the Mini 2 with OctoPrint running. Wanted to better understand if there are impacts because of the stock LCD it comes with, or if there are other issues. I currently have a Mini 1 with OctoPrint and use Sli3er to slice and send to it, so I'm familiar with those bits, profiles etc. Just want to see if it can be duplicated on the 2.

fastrobplus
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:57 am

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by fastrobplus » Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:35 am

Does the mini 2's LCD differ from the Taz 6?.
On the Taz 6 the LCD defaults to the info screen and you can monitor the toolhead and bed heater temps. It has not issue with Octoprint.
I sure hope the Mini 2 doesn't reinvent the wheel here.

kcchen_00
Posts: 1669
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:42 am

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by kcchen_00 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:13 pm

The LCD shouldn't affect Octoprint... and vice versa. They are completely different systems. Octoprint is just streaming/sending g-code to the printer. Its not an extension of the printer's firmware.

While printing through Octoprint, don't use the LCD menu functions. Pause or stop the print in Octoprint then use the LCD menu functions... ie move the toolhead, extrude/retract filament, change filament. I don't think the LCD functions are sent to Octoprint.

DougSwan23
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:04 pm

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by DougSwan23 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:07 pm

I have a mini 2 and I just setup octoprint on a raspberry pi 3. It looks like I need to go and tweak a few settings so that the print head and base don't hit the bump stops. Also noticed that the retract button on the octoprint interface doesn't work, so I have to figure out a way to change printing material. It was really easy to setup, I might have missed something during the process that takes care of these issues.

monsteroyd
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:30 pm

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by monsteroyd » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:27 am

I have it and it works great on my Mini2.

@DougSwan23 Extruding or retracting don't do anything until the hot end is ,well, hot. Set a temp then try.

Monty

defuzz
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 1:33 am

Re: Mini 2 with OctoPrint?

Post by defuzz » Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:26 pm

The default extruder speed is too fast for my Mini 1. I think it's set to 300 by default. 150 works much better. It's in Printer Profile > Axes as E.

I was wondering why I was having issues with stripping after filament changing and that was it (I'd feed by hand for a bit, then use OctoPrint to feed some).

Post Reply