Difference Between SE & SL Tool Heads?

My LulzBot Mini 2 “High-Detail Bundle” order should be here next week! So I’m a newbie, and have searched these forums for an answer without finding it…

What exactly is the hardware difference between the standard LulzBot SE 0.5 tool head and the new “small layer” SL 0.25 tool heads, other than the nozzle diameters (and firmware settings)? Why would I not want to just swap out the nozzle to a smaller diameter, other than the warranty issues and need to adjust software parameters? What justifies the $300 expense - for that matter, what justifies the $595 expense of the HS heads, other than the nozzle diameters and hardened nozzle material?

From what I’ve found on the forums, I understand I need to re-flash the printer firmware each time I swap out the head, to set the parameters of the nozzle size being used. With this effort required, is it really that much more work to just swap out the nozzles when I need to do a higher-resolution print? I understand the nozzles must be correctly installed to avoid issues. But isn’t this needed when a nozzle wears out anyway?

Sorry if this is a uninformed newbie question. I’m not questioning just the expense - I can see where having multiple heads pre-set with specialty nozzles would be handy. I’m just trying to learn and understand exactly what I’m doing by swapping out the SL and SE heads that will both come in my “High-Detail Bundle” for my new Mini-2. If the only difference is the nozzles, and the heads themselves are exact duplicates, then I will understand better what to expect when I swap them out (like, only the software/firmware changes can be expected to control the quality of my print results).

Thanks from a new Learner!