linear bearing backlash, big X axis issues

Greetings,

I’ve been printing with my TAZ 4 for a few months now, very happy by the quality and build volume.

I came into serious issues with print quality very recently, let’s say in the past 2 weeks. I started to notice some oozing on the side of parts, usually when doing curved part.

that was new to me, as I printed a lot of parts, including complex quadcopter parts, a full flexidually head (not finished yet, about to install the steppers on it) and more.
Looking at the parts, I could see a scallop / wavy pattern in most of the curves, like if the thing was wobbling, which was definitely new, as quality of the prints were really perfect so far.

I started to look at the printing head and noticed I have a huge backlash on the linear bearings. There’s almost nothing on the left side, but it’s big and noticeable on the right side, and now I can see (and hear) the head wobbling while printing.

here’s a video of it :
http://youtu.be/JGVw6LI4v2o

I looked at the IGUS product page to see how those work, they are said to be oversized bearings that you pressfit and it should grab the lead shaft. In my case it’s not grabbing it at all.

2 possibilities IMHO :

• bearings are dead. No idea how / why. The printer mileage isn’t crazy, I got it 5 months ago. I don’t even print 1 part a week with it.

• the bearing housing / clamping on the X carriage opened up, mostly on the right side, but why less on the left side (?)

Printed didn’t get modded. I’ve experimented a couple of times with hight accelerations to check print speed on long parts but I’m back to the default back. I print with the bed at 95° and nozzle at 235°C with ABS from lulzbot.

pointers / hints ???

I also see that lulzbot sells some bronze bushing, similar to what I have on my UM1 at work. Should I move to this ? I don’t mind upgrading but I’m not happy with having the bearings or X carriage failing with no reason for now.