TAZ 5 X Y Z cycling "?"

Have questions? Want advice?
Post Reply
CWAVE6K
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:29 pm

TAZ 5 X Y Z cycling "?"

Post by CWAVE6K » Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:49 pm

I have a TAZ5 that I just purchased off ebay (yes another one of those poor used and abused TAZ5 specials you find no-where else!) :?

Besides the physical damage to the frame it endured during shipping (what else is new), I've been trying to evaluate the electronics side of it.

When I power the printer on, the X Y and Z displayed on the LCD screen cycle between "X,Y,Z and a ? mark. Does anyone know what that means?

I've checked the wiring and the control board, and it appears physically to be in ok shape.

With the build in controls, I can move the X, Y and Z axis steppers, and the heated bed and extruder heats up... BUT... I cannot get the extruder stepper to do anything. I've checked the wiring and it's ok. I've swapped in a known working print head, and the stepper to extrude filament will not do anything when told to do so from the control panel.

Any thoughts?

Thanks for your time and reading about my woes....

Thomas

Ehoff
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 1:34 pm

Re: TAZ 5 X Y Z cycling "?"

Post by Ehoff » Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:47 pm

The LCD screen will show ?'s for all axis until the printer is homed. Once an axis is homed, it will then give a reading.

CWAVE6K
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:29 pm

Re: TAZ 5 X Y Z cycling "?"

Post by CWAVE6K » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:41 pm

Thanks for your reply, but I can't say that I see that behaviour on any of my other four TAZ5 printers.

I can't seem to move the extruder motor through the LCD panel/controls, however, I can control the X,Y,Z axis steppers through there.

I also can't seem to connect to the rambo board with any PC or astrobox. Tried machines/astrobox's that are working on my other printers.

Wonder if perhaps the rambo board is cooked. Think that's plausible?

Any thoughts?

Thomas
Ehoff wrote:
Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:47 pm
The LCD screen will show ?'s for all axis until the printer is homed. Once an axis is homed, it will then give a reading.

Keebie81
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: TAZ 5 X Y Z cycling "?"

Post by Keebie81 » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:25 am

it likely has new firmware thats why you dont see it on your others. Also since firmware is newer the baud rate is now 250,000

Post Reply