Help with Printing

Hi. I am new to 3D printing and trying to use the Taz 4 in a high school classroom with my students. We are currently using Pronterface and Slic3r. We have tried modeling parts in Autodesk Inventor and saving them as a .stl file, then using Slic3r to convert it to gcode, and finally bringing it in to Pronterface. Once we import it in to Pronterface it takes an extreme amount of time to load the part before it ever begins to print. We tried to print something yesterday and it ran all night long but never printed. It was still processing the code when I returned this morning and hadn’t printed the first thing.

Is there a problem with my process or is this common? I have been frustrated with this entire process and haven’t been able to print much of anything. We have even tried downloading .stl part files from thingiverse.com and using premade items but the problem still persists. Can anyone provide me any assistance?

Thanks,
George

On Pronterface screen, what’s the Baud rate set to?

Top of screen where you pick your Port, then there’s an “@” then a window. What’s in that window after the @ symbol?

It’s set at 115200

I tried connecting at different numbers and it never would connect. It showed a lot of foreign symbols on the screen and did not connect…

Okay…maybe back up a few steps.

Are you using the proper Slic3r and Pronterface versions? The ones suggested by Lulzbot. Not “experimental versions”, “beta test versions” or something like that?

Are you using the Lulzbot provided configurations for the material you’re using? ABS or PLA? Maybe start with the “fast” version?

What OS is on your computer? Windows 7 or 8? XP?

Sometimes complex parts take a while to convert to gcode in slicer, but I’ve never had an issue getting gcode to load into Pronterface.