FreeCAD Tutorials

I don’t really have much of a CAD background, so I’ve been playing around with lots of the available (i.e. free) CAD tools to see if any of them click with me. I’m a software developer, so OpenSCAD makes the most sense, but I’ve found Autodesk Inventor Fusion to make the most sense out of the more traditional CAD tools I’ve tried. FreeCAD is really what I want to be using, but I’m finding the learning curve to be pretty steep.

Are there any great tutorials, books, example FreeCAD part design workflows you’d recommend to someone just getting started?

I’ve looked through tutorial links on FreeCAD’s site and watched several of the videos they link to, but I feel like I’m still missing a basic explanation of the workflow I should use. I can understand the concept behind sketching & then pad/pocket to extrude out a basic shape, but I don’t quite understand how I should be locking down the degrees of freedom within the sketch.

• Adam

Hello Adam,

Here’s a list of the most recent FreeCAD tutorials on YouTube, I believe they are not referenced in the FreeCAD wiki.

One thing to keep in mind is that FreeCAD is open source software, developed by a very small team of people in their spare time. The developers cannot spare time to write documentation, they have to rely on the community, which is very small as well, actually a few orders of magnitude smaller than say the Blender community. Which is why there is not much learning material.

So far there’s been only one book published by Packt Publishing. It’s more of an introduction to FreeCAD than an extensive reference book. It looks like it’s not available in print anymore, just in ebook format. Search | Packt Subscription

I’ve been thinking of making FreeCAD tutorials but I already spend a lot of time helping newcomers on the FreeCAD forum where my handle is normandc.