Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Get answers & advice for all of your 3D printing & Free Software needs here!
nbart3845
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:00 pm

Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nbart3845 » Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:15 pm

My print keeps freezes in the same spot on the model....could it be a software, hardware or model problem???

User avatar
piercet
Posts: 4022
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:37 am
Location: Battleground, WA
Contact:

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by piercet » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:50 am

It could be any one of those 3 things. The easiest way to check, is load the model to a SD card in the SD card slot on the printer (export the gcode and save it there, etc.) then print the model directly from the printer without the computer sending the data. If it works from there, you know it's probably your computer software or hardware (usually USB power settings or PC not set to "high performance" at that point) . if on the other hand if the model fails at that point again, you know it;s the model. You can also post the model here and we can tell you if it is likely a good model or not if you like.

nickthetait
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Contact:

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nickthetait » Fri Oct 09, 2015 7:39 am

Please post the .gcode you are printing, indicate where in the print it is freezing, what host software you are using to slice/print, and what version of firmware is on your Taz.

nbart3845
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:00 pm

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nbart3845 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:47 am

I'm running the Marlin 2015Q1 Taz5 firmware with Cura 17.10, but did it also on 14.09. How can I get the gcode off of Cura to post it?

nickthetait
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Contact:

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nickthetait » Fri Oct 09, 2015 11:52 am

Thanks for the info! There is a "Save to gcode" item hiding in the "File" menu in the top left of Cura.

A new addition to Cura v17 is incorporating firmware files for all the LulzBot printers. So if you have a Taz 5 selected, plug it in, turn it on then hit "install default firmware" and you should get the very latest 2015Q3. This may or may not solve the problem, haven't been able to determine if Cura or Marlin are to blame yet...

nickthetait
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Contact:

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nickthetait » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:17 pm

Also, when the printer is in this "frozen" state, what do you see on its LCD panel? Is there some status message like "printing..." or "waiting for user input"?

nbart3845
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:00 pm

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nbart3845 » Sat Oct 10, 2015 10:05 am

Hmm...so apparently I have a new issue. Just updated the firmware and tried to reprint and now the whole printer died. It wont turn on, not sure if the powersupply died or what.

nickthetait
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Contact:

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nickthetait » Mon Oct 12, 2015 7:06 am

Oh, no that is terrible news! Please contact support (https://www.lulzbot.com/support) and they'll help you get your printer up and running again.

nbart3845
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:00 pm

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nbart3845 » Wed Oct 14, 2015 12:16 pm

Well got the a new power supply in and got the printer at least running again. Still have the problem of it freezing during the print.

nickthetait
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 2:40 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Contact:

Re: Cura TAZ 5 print freezes

Post by nickthetait » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:27 am

In that case I'd recommend unplugging the USB cable and printing exclusively from the SD card.

Post Reply