Slic3r sequential printing

Get answers & advice for all of your 3D printing & Free Software needs here!
Post Reply
Verd
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Slic3r sequential printing

Post by Verd » Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:35 pm

I'm having difficulty getting Slic3r to properly do sequential printing. It finishes the first object fine, but when it begins the second print, it doesn't Z home the hot end and just starts printing in space at the level of the top of the last print.
I'm using Slic3r 9.9b and starting with the Lulzbot default settings for highquality and then selecting Sequential prints properly spaced. Any help is appreciated.

User avatar
Orias
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 1509
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:24 pm
Location: US

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by Orias » Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:34 am

We touch on this topic briefly in the user manual found here: http://devel.lulzbot.com/TAZ/2.1/docume ... -ebook.pdf on page 117.

Verd
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by Verd » Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:18 pm

So I've clicked the box for sequential printing and kept the default settings as is. After finishing the first one the head doesn't z-home. Has anyone had luck with it working with the latest version of Slic3r? If it's worked for you, then how can I troubleshoot through this?

Verd
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by Verd » Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:21 am

I've contacted Slic3r directly and the problem isn't their software. Somehow TAZ is not responding to the gcode correctly. It is being told to z home inbetween the individual prints, but it is ignoring the command. How can that be? How do I troubleshoot this?

User avatar
gannon
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:42 am

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by gannon » Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:54 am

Can you post the g-code file that you are specifically having issues with?

Verd
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by Verd » Fri Nov 22, 2013 8:36 am

Here's an example. I have separate .stl's that are dropped into Slic3r, then made into gcode using the Lulzbot high_quality.ini. The first one prints entirely, but when it gets to the second one it moves over and just prints, rather than returning to the plate. I've now upgraded to the latest Slic3r and the latest Printrun without any difference in output. I haven't done anything to the firmware at all.
Attachments
JetQuakeBadge.gcode
(1 MiB) Downloaded 128 times

User avatar
gannon
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:42 am

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by gannon » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:45 am

Looks like that file has 2 parts in it, and the Z axis should move down according to the code.
I wonder what is up with the firmware that is making this not work. Are you using the stock configuration for marlin that lulzbot distributes?
You might want to enable verbose mode in pronterface to try to catch any unexpected info.

Verd
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by Verd » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:46 pm

Firmware is as it was configured at the LulzBot factory. No electrons have been harmed.

I'll enable the verbose with my next multi-print. Thx!

User avatar
gannon
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 11:42 am

Re: Slic3r sequential printing

Post by gannon » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:31 pm

I'm not sure if marlin or pronterface directly support this, but you could also do a dry run that would just do x/y/z movements and not extrude anything. More useful than having a failed print every time you test this.

Post Reply