TAZ Slic3r profiles

Get answers & advice for all of your 3D printing & Free Software needs here!
wwcsmail
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 5:24 pm

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by wwcsmail » Thu May 29, 2014 5:27 pm

With regards to the posted profiles, is there a reason why the TAZ4 profiles for slic3r don't seem to enable the fan by default?

User avatar
Orias
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:24 pm
Location: US

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by Orias » Fri May 30, 2014 9:15 am

Support for the fan itself is already within the Marlin firmware on the printers we have shipped. You can use manual commands to turn the fan on (M106 S(0-255)) or off (M107). You can also set your slicing software to do so automatically, by activating cooling (Slic3r: Filament Settings > Cooling).

Typically, you will only use a fan for bridging, or when printing with PLA, where you will usually just leave your fan on all the time. The PLA specific Slic3r profiles we have available here: https://www.lulzbot.com/support/taz-slic3r-profiles have the fan enabled and are set to have the fan on during the entire print.

gghouck
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 11:35 pm
Location: Seward, Alaska

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by gghouck » Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:48 pm

Are we going to see profiles for other size nozzles? I really want to try abs in .50 or even .75.

User avatar
Orias
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:24 pm
Location: US

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by Orias » Tue Nov 11, 2014 10:40 am

If you're using a different sized nozzle (larger) you can generally just change the hot end nozzle diameter in the Slic3r profile, and then adjust the printing speeds up slightly as you judge the print quality.

mousera
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:14 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by mousera » Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:00 pm

These profiles don't seem to import in Slic3r 1.2 branch. Can they be updated to work? I have trouble with some of my models in 1.1.7 while 1.2.1 seems to be able to handle them. Thanks.

gapdev
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 1:55 pm
Location: Dana Point, CA

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by gapdev » Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:54 pm

These profiles don't seem to import in Slic3r 1.2 branch
The only problem I had with importing the profiles was Slic3r telling me I needed to set a bed size. Everything else was the same as in 1.1.7.

Kenny

mousera
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:14 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by mousera » Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:18 pm

I take it back. It seems the profile imported. The temps though seem to be set at 220C and 80C for the ABS profile when I export the code.

mousera
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 5:14 am

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by mousera » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:22 am

Anyone? Also if you load the medium profile the fill jumps to 50% for Slic3r. Is this an error? Should it be 20%?

Fast = 15%
Medium = 50%
Fine = 30%

User avatar
Orias
Aleph Objects | LulzBot
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:24 pm
Location: US

Re: TAZ Slic3r profiles

Post by Orias » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:32 am

mind linking the profile you're using?


Post Reply