Cura 21.08 "Initial Layer Line width %"

In Cura 21.08, does the Advanced setting of “Initial Layer Line width %” actually DO anything?

I am pretty new to 3D printing, and I am still trying to get everything dialed in, and to get experience with tweaking settings to get a desired result.

Using PC-MAX, my settings seem fine. When I switch to Polymaker PLA, the first layer is too stringy ad the fill lines do not squish together properly. I have already tweaked the Z-Axis offset and it is fine for PC-MAX. Therefore I think this setting is “correct”.

So, I have tried to increase the “Initial Layer Line width %”. I pushed it from 125% to 180% and the first layer looks exactly the same. I pushed it to a ridiculous 200% and it is STILL the same!

Is there some reason that this setting will have no effect on the width f the lines of plastic being laid down in the first layer?

I have the “Initial Layer thickness (mm)” set to zero. I want the first layer to be exactly the same thickness as all the others. Is this wrong? Should it be set to the same number as the setting in the Basic settings of “Layer Height (mm)” which for my recent prints was set to 0.15mm.

Can someone tell me what G-Code should be generated or changed by setting the “Initial Layer Line width %” to a custom setting? I would like to compare the G-Code for two identical prints varying only in the “Initial Layer Line width %” setting.

-Tony

I personally like to have a semi-high initial layer height to help adjust for any bed surface defects like bumps and peaks in the actual bed surface. Then when it is laying the next layer it tends to be a now even more flat layer surface height.

Plus in math terms if I remember right: 0(initial height) X 200% is still 0% change.