Bed Adhesion Skirt

Hi,

I’m pretty new to this, so apologies if this is a dumb question.

I’m having trouble consistently getting the bed adhesion skirt to print. I’m using Cura-LE 2.6.63 and have downloaded the accompanying firmware into my Mini. When I used the prior version of Cura-LE, I had trouble also getting the “prime blob” to print. (In this version I don’t even see an option for a prime blob.)

What happens is that somewhere in the middle of the skirt print, material will start extruding, but it doesn’t extrude at the very start.

Trying to figure this out, I looked at the startup GCODE and I see that, just prior to wiping, there’s a 30 mm retract:
G1 E-30 F75 ; retract filament
And then just prior to printing, there’s an extrusion command, but it’s zero mm:
G1 Z2 E0 F75 ; prime tiny bit of filment into the nozzle

My question is, can this bed adhesion skirt issue be caused by retracting 30 mm and not extruding it back before starting the print? And could I fix it by changing the above line of GCODE to extrude the 30 mm back that had been retracted?

Thanks!

As long as you have filament extruded at some point during the skirt you’re totally fine. The main function of the skirt is to prime the hot end to make sure that it’s full of filament and extruding well when it begins to print your part.

Brim is similar to the Skirt setting, but is used to increase the first layer surface area for improved part adhesion. This setting can be tweaked to be as large as you need, but the defaults should work well.

As for your start gcode question, we use the G92 to set the current extruder position to 0, followed by a filament retraction, and finally some filament reloading:

M82 ; set extruder to absolute mode
G92 E0 ; set extruder position to 0

G1 E-30 F75 ; retract filament

G1 Z2 E0 F75 ; prime tiny bit of filament into the nozzle (pull filament back into nozzle)