Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Want to use the Open Source Hardware documentation to make your LulzBot 3D Printer do even more? Start here!
ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:21 pm

Ok - end gcode looks very similar...

So the issue seems to be when you "stop" a print midway through in S3D using using the stop button - that's what scrambling the printer's brains - have you had that issue?

Seems like there's something wrong with the stop functionality and then trying to start a new print.

-john
Last edited by ocelot27 on Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Menissalt
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:47 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Menissalt » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:25 pm

What do you mean by stop button?

ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:28 pm

In the S3D machine control panel....

Menissalt
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:47 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Menissalt » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:38 pm

Oh, I use OctoPrint. I hate using slicers to print via my computer. I'd rather print from an SD card so I can't help you troubleshoot. If you figure it out and it's a bug in the firmware I'll make sure to correct it in my version.

ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:12 pm

I'm a halfwit...

Figured it out - I had mistakenly left the G26 command in the start gcode which used to be in the start gcode for the regular Taz 6 FW - this is now "mesh validation tool" - used to be "clear probe fail condition"

Still weird that it doesn't do it for the first print after the machine is booted - but I suppose it's because the bed would not have been leveled yet so it may just ignore G26 in that scenario - cool pattern though...

-john

Menissalt
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:47 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Menissalt » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:07 pm

Happens to the best of us. When I was trying to merge the latest update I kept pulling the stable release instead of the dev release and couldn't figure out why features were missing!

On another note we really should move this convo over to your thread since this is Taz 6 talk.

ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:06 am

That's another thing I was wondering - when they release new versions of 1.1.8.x how do you merge so you don't have to go through and make all the edits every time there is a release?

Also what type of bed leveling have you settled on for the BLTouch - right now I'm using Bilinear with a 3x3 grid and it's bang on perfect every time. I'm so happy to not have to deal with keeping the nozzle spotlessly clean for the whole Taz 6 washer touch thing. Do you use the double touch feature or just a single touch for each probe point?

-john

Menissalt
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:47 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Menissalt » Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:50 pm

I use bilinear 4x4 with double touch

ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:42 am

Just wanted to mention something - not sure if the 5 has a heatsink on the stepper driver for the z axis - the 6 does - if there isn't one you may consider placing one on the chip due to the increased load on the driver controlling two bigger motors...

-john

Not1ofthepack
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:56 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Not1ofthepack » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:07 am

Thank you Menissalt for all that you have done and shared freely. I have tried following in your footsteps through the process you have shared here.

I do have a question / problem. I copied your posted startup code for S3D all but the ";" lines. I then went through Marlin 1.1.8 and did my best to configure everything. Attached is my Config.h and Config_adv.h ... What happens I load an STL in S3D save to SD card and then load in the TAZ5. It begins to heat up, auto levels, completes heating up, then it just jumps to "printing complete" and precedes to cool/shut down.

Please can anyone help me figure out whats wrong?
Attachments
Marlin1.1.8Taz5BLtouch.zip
(43 KiB) Downloaded 25 times

Post Reply