Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Want to use the Open Source Hardware documentation to make your LulzBot 3D Printer do even more? Start here!
nalby
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:04 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by nalby » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:54 pm

Hi I just installed the bltouch on my taz5, with a bit of tweaking I have it working pretty good. Thanks for the sketch. One question right now it's doing 12 points and takes forever is there a way to speed it up and do 9 points?

thanks jim

xstrider
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:46 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by xstrider » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:22 am

I believe you have to recompile the code changing this setting:

Code: Select all


#if ENABLED(AUTO_BED_LEVELING_LINEAR) || ENABLED(AUTO_BED_LEVELING_BILINEAR)

  // Set the number of grid points per dimension.
  #define GRID_MAX_POINTS_X 3
  #define GRID_MAX_POINTS_Y 3
  
  

Menissalt
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:47 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Menissalt » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:11 pm

xstrider wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:22 am
I believe you have to recompile the code changing this setting:

Code: Select all


#if ENABLED(AUTO_BED_LEVELING_LINEAR) || ENABLED(AUTO_BED_LEVELING_BILINEAR)

  // Set the number of grid points per dimension.
  #define GRID_MAX_POINTS_X 3
  #define GRID_MAX_POINTS_Y 3
  
  
Yea, that will do it

nalby
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:04 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by nalby » Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:20 pm

that was it thanks

AllenBW
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:00 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by AllenBW » Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:33 am

Disclaimer: 4 cali cats n a few cubes later, we feel pretty good about this mostly workin

OMG ya'll are so motivating n awesome n stuff :) Much appreciation for the suffering that was put fourth before mine.... so here is some giving back.

I have a taz5 with an angelfish_aerostruder, printed this mount

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2811436

and modified the firmware here

https://github.com/AllenBW/taz5-aerostruder-bltouch

and am now sittin real pretty...

alternatively, if you only want the latest n greatest of the marlin 1.1.9, while using the original toolhead you can do the following:
* edit the probe offset here https://github.com/AllenBW/taz5-aerostr ... #L299-L300
* edit the zprobe bounds here https://github.com/AllenBW/taz5-aerostr ... #L304-L305
* be super happy with yerself for running the latest n greatest

start gcode (for lulzbot cura, might want to swap out var names for other slicers)

Code: Select all

M75 ; start GLCD timer
G26 ; clear potential 'probe fail' condition
G21 ; set units to Millimetres
M107 ; disable fans
G90 ; absolute positioning
M82 ; set extruder to absolute mode
M104 S150 ; Set extruder to 150 and do not wait - preheat
M140 S{material_bed_temperature} ; start bed heating up
G28 ; home X Y Z
M204 S100 ; set probing acceleration
G29 ; start auto-leveling sequence
M425 Z ; use measured Z backlash for compensation
M425 Z F0 ; turn off measured Z backlash compensation. (if activated in the quality settings, this command will automatically be ignored)
M204 S500 ; restore standard acceleration
M117 Heating... ; progress indicator message on LCD
M109 R{material_print_temperature} ; wait for extruder to reach printing temp
M190 S{material_bed_temperature_layer_0} ; wait for bed to reach printing temp
G92 E0 ; set extruder position to 0
G1 F200 E0 ; prime the nozzle with filament
G92 E0 ; re-set extruder position to 0
M117 TAZ 5 Printing... ; progress indicator message on LCD
Last edited by AllenBW on Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nalby
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:04 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by nalby » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:54 am

AllenBW

Thanks it works great, all I had to do is adjust my e_steps and z_offset

ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:37 am

Hey just want to run a question by the group - have been using BLTouch + 1.1.8 on a T6 for a long time now - just made the mods to 1.1.9 and everything works fine.....

But... when a print ends the exit script is executed fine but the printer seems to think it's still in the middle of a print - i.e. the menus on the LCD don't go back to he ones that you would see while not printing. When you send a new print job everything goes south of course - the only solution is a reboot. Here's my ending script - using latest version of S3D.

Thanks!

-john

Start script - includes a quick wipe routine just for removing globs from nozzle - also includes a prime routine that places a glob and then moves away and down from it leaving the nozzle clean and primed:

M300 ; tone
G26 ; clear probe fail condition
M140 S[bed0_temperature] ; set bed temp
M104 S185 ; set extruder temp
G91 ; relative positioning
G1 Z5 ; safe raise of z axis
G90 ; Absolute positioning
G28 ; home xyz
M109 S185; heat extruder and wait
G92 E0 ; zero extruder
G1 E-4 F4000 ; retract 3mm filament
G1 X-17.5 Y100 F3000 ; move above wiper pad
G1 Z0.8 ; push nozzle into wiper
G1 X-17.5 Y25 F2500 ; slow wipe
G1 X-16 Y95 F2500 ; slow wipe
G1 X-14.5 Y25 Z0.9 F3500 ; fast wipe
G1 Z5 ; safe raise of z axis
M204 S1000 ; set accel for probing
G29 ; probe sequence (for auto-leveling)
M204 S800 ; set accel back to normal
G1 X0 Y0 Z10 F6000 ; get out of the way
M400 ; clear buffer
M117 Heating...
M104 S[extruder0_temperature] ; set extruder temp
M190 S[bed0_temperature] ; wait for bed temp
M109 S[extruder0_temperature] ; wait for extruder temp
M75 ; start print job timer
G1 Z2 E3 F120 ; prime nozzle
G1 X10 Y10 Z0.3 F6000 ; move away from prime glob and lower
;G1 Z0.25
M300 ; tone
M117 TAZ Printing...


Finish Script:

M400 ; wait for moves to finish
M104 S185; set extruder temp
M104 S0 ; turn off extruder
M107 ; turn off fan
G91 ; relative positioning
G1 E-1 F4000 ; retract 1mm filament
G1 Z5 ; lift 5mm
G90 ; absolute positioning
G28 XY F8000 ; home x and y
M77; stop print timer
M117 Cooling please wait
M140 S45 ; set bed temp
M140 S0 ; turn off bed
M84 ; disable motors
;M400 ; clear buffer
M300 ; tone
M117 Print complete

Not1ofthepack
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 9:56 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Not1ofthepack » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:17 pm

Thank you @AllenBW

I have tried to read your edits but do not quite understand enough to edit yours to fit mine. I also tried to read and edit from devel.lulzbot.com/software/Marlin/ but still having issues.

My 2 issues I have noticed in mine are: (1) once the BLTouch has finished with G29, the pin drops the light turns off and will not retract before printing begins. I have bandaged patched that with "M280 P0 S90" in the start up script. (2) is it print I get major layer shifting on the "Y" axis.

Would you please take a look at my attached files and tell me what I have done wrong. Thank you.
Attachments
Configuration_adv.h
(69.04 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
Configuration.h
(72.51 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

ocelot27
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by ocelot27 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:05 pm

I started a new thread in software with a link to the full working 1.1.9:

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8005

Try that one...

I forgot to delete/edit my last post here.

Lastly, I don't think backlash compensation will work with the bltouch they way lulzbot has employed it. My understanding is that it measures z backlash by measuring the steps to break continuity in the original lulzbot auto leveling nozzle-touch-washer design. Because this break in continuity doesn't occur with the bltouch, it won't work.

John

Menissalt
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:47 am

Re: Taz 5 + BLTouch [Project]

Post by Menissalt » Thu Jan 24, 2019 2:33 pm

Updated to 2.0.0.77, enabled linear advance, and set more probe points.

Leveling is MUCH better and because it takes so long I now run G29 then G500 on startup rather than before prints. I now include "M420 S1" in my start gcode so the print uses the stored mesh. I may add even more probe points.

I haven't tested lin_advance yet with this but look forward to trying it soon.

Post Reply