Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Get answers & advice for all of your 3D printing & Free Software needs here!
Post Reply
Cybercore
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 10:24 pm

Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Post by Cybercore » Wed Oct 30, 2019 10:29 pm

Is anyone else having an issue with pause at height working on this version of Cura? Please see attached file I was trying to print to see the g-code I was using. I used the basic script inside of cura with no luck. I had the highest layer at the top and lowest layer at the bottom. I tried to put the time to 300s just to see if it would work and that seemed to make no change. Also I am the use the Pause at Layer not pause at height. I appreciate any help. Thank you in advance.
Attachments
LMA_pittsburgh-steelers-mk.gcode
(434.7 KiB) Downloaded 13 times

b-morgan
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:53 am

Re: Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Post by b-morgan » Thu Oct 31, 2019 11:20 am

In 3.6.20, there are multiple "Pause at..." post-processing scripts available and some of them have issues. I have attempted to fix most of the issues in PauseAtHeightorLayer.py. There was also some issues with getting the updated versions into CuraLE so I'm not sure which version is available in 3.6.3.

From the gcode you posted, I see 3 pauses, layers 2, 4, and 5. What specifically isn't working?

Cybercore
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 10:24 pm

Re: Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Post by Cybercore » Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:37 pm

It is no pausing at all on the printer it just seems to keep on going with no change. I am using an original Lulzbot Mini with and Aerostruder Toolhead.

b-morgan
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:53 am

Re: Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Post by b-morgan » Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:53 am

What is the printer connected to (i.e. what software is controlling the printer)?

Does the printer move to 190,190 and raise Z at the chosen layers?

If the printer doesn't "pause" then the M0 command either isn't being sent or isn't recognized by the firmware in the printer.

myurkoski
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:52 am

Re: Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Post by myurkoski » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:15 am

I am seeing the exact same issue.

Here are the details:
  • Lulzbot Cura 3.6.20
  • Lulzbot Mini with latest firmware (1.1.9.34)
  • Running on stock OctoPrint, fully up to date with no plugins
  • In Cura, using setting "Pause at height or layer"
  • on an 18-layer part, telling it to pause at layer 13
  • Printer does not stop, even briefly throughout print.
  • Ouput file contains no "M0" callouts
  • Same settings in vanilla Cura 4.3.0 contain PauseAtHeight.py script with M0 as expected
Both files are attached, and I've triple checked that the pause at height post processing is active in Lulzbot Cura, it's just having no effect. Also, If I close Lulzbot Cura and reopen, the post processing script is gone (which I like because I constantly forget to remove them later) whereas in vanilla, they persist after reopening.
Attachments
Pause Working on Cura 4.3.0.gcode
(530.18 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Pause Not Working on LCura 3.6.20.gcode
(393.19 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

b-morgan
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:53 am

Re: Pause at Height Issue Lulzbot Cura 3.6.3

Post by b-morgan » Mon Nov 11, 2019 9:04 am

Very strange. Just so we are clear, @cybercore's issue is different than @myurkoski's issue. In @cypercore's case, the post processing gcode was inserted. In @myurkoski's case, no code was inserted.

My initial test of CuraLE 3.6.20 failed to insert any scripts, not just PauseAtHeightorLayer so I decided to regress to previous versions to see where it went wrong. On another system, I installed 3.6.3 and it worked, 3.6.18 worked so I came back to my main machine and tried 3.6.20 again. This time it worked.

For PauseAtHeightorLayer, it will insert ";TYPE:CUSTOM" and ";END:CUSTOM" around the gcode it adds (for each instance).

I have no idea why it failed and then succeeded.

Post Reply