Enclosure for Taz5

Hi all newbie here. I ordered a Taz 5 but have not gotten it yet.

For my printing needs dimensional accuracy is a top priority. I’ve been planing to build an enclosure for the printer. I wonder how many of you have your printer in an enclosure and how it has helped for part accuracy and minimize warping, shrinking and just overall failed prints. Any feed back you guys have would be appreciated.

The prototypes I do are pretty highly detailed mechanical assemblies with lots of small parts. (Toy scale) I bought the Taz 5 to supplement my Dimension SST1200ES parts and maybe over time replace it. At first my intention is to use the Lulzbot when and if the part tolorances are not as importanint. For example if I need to make a bunch of custom Hot Wheel. I want to use mostly ABS & HIPS for printing I don’t really like the workability of PLA. I’m also hoping the new PET material is a good alternative. Supost to be easy to print like PLA but stronger than ABS. But not sure how well it glues with super glue. Anyone know how well it glues with ca?

I’ve designed an enclosure and have the laser cut acrylic on order but haven’t received them yet. I am probably just going to post the drawings on thingverse once I prove out the design. I was thinking about offering them for sale, but frankly it ended up being so expensive I doubt there would be a big market for it. It uses someone else’s design for printed components for connecting an enclosure together: thingverse: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:675652 to assemble the design. Note these parts are not my design, I just developed the drawings I needed for the panels. He gives the size of the sheets but of course doesn’t provide all the little details like hole locations etc. I’ve worked all that out on CAD.