Some questions before purchasing a TAZ5.

Hi all,

I am a 3d printing beginner and my research so far has landed me in the TAZ5 camp. From all the reviews that I’ve read the TAZ5 seems to be the best overall printer with the best balance of quality, flexibility, and price. However, I do have some questions for which I have not been able to find answers. I was hoping that the users of this board could help me!

In an Tom’s Hardware review of the TAZ5 (https://forum.lulzbot.com/ucp.php?mode=activate&u=2830&k=1IBPFO), I read that a newer version of the TAZ5 is coming up, which will include the auto bed leveling and the nozzle scrubbing pad. Does anyone know when that is going to become available?

Related to the above, do you know whether the newer TAZ5 (with auto leveling) will also include the manually-adjustable bed screws? Auto-leveling is nice but I’ve read that it’s done in-software. I would think that the software auto-leveling would be great to compensate for heat expansion but nothing beats a physically leveled bed.

Finally, I see on the Lulzbot website that a 0.35mm nozzle is available for the TAZ5 but only as a separate purchase. Does anyone know why I can’t order the TAZ5 with the 0.35mm nozzle directly?

Thank you all for the help!

We can certanly try!

Sometime after March-ish, possibly later than that. You can see the prototype here: http://devel.lulzbot.com/TAZ/Mangrove/photos/Mangrove_Photos/

It looks like it will have fixed bed corners with software leveling, identical to the Lulzbot Mini for the most part.

The Taz used to ship with a 0.35mm nozzle, and most users are apparently not qualified to operate a 0.35mm nozzle, because there were a fair amount of problems (not due to the nozzle, but due to people using it improperly or complaining about the speed compared to a 0.50mm. ) You might call support and see if they will sell you a 0.35mm variant directly as a special order?

Thank you all for the help![/quote]

You’re welcome!