TAZ Pro bed leveling questions

Hi all,

I have been diving into 3D printing for about 18 months now. My primary printer is a TAZ Pro with the dual extruder. Generally, love it. I am running the latest release version of Cura LE 3 on MacOS.

I usually print in PETG. I have been noticing that my print bed no longer seems as flat/level as I would expect (maybe I am expecting too much). First, most parts have some amount of elephants foot on the first layer and it varies in size across even small parts (~30mm across). My understanding is that this variation is likely due to bed leveling issues.

In addition, some of my prints now span across a large portion of the bed. Thus, I began checking my Z-offset at more points. I am seeing up to 0.15mm-0.20mm change in bed/nozzle height. Even stranger, the back left and front right corners seem to be consistently lower than the front left, center, and back right. This would imply that the bed has a ridge across one diagonal and drops on either side. Maybe I am missing something. Not sure if this amount of variation is expected on the standard glass+PEI build plate.

I have carefully checked that the leveling washers are just slightly snug. The auto leveling process always completes successfully.

I am actually completely blind and do not have pics at the moment. If something specific would be useful I can work on getting assistance taking them. Thanks in advance.

.2mm doesn’t seem out of the ordinary for a glass bed of this size. I think this is the reason that the first layer height on Cura LE is typically around .425mm.

I have found that the octograb kit helps a lot with the flatness of the build plate significantly, but since you do have a Pro, I would consider holding out a bit longer and waiting for the official release of the BLTouch for it, which will let you probe more points across the bed for that perfect first layer.