ABS issues, prints are not accurate, wrong size

Hey All,

I have been using my taz 4 for a few months. Got good with it but never really tested the prints. I had someone ask me to print a gear for them and I realized that the prints are not coming out the same size as the files.

I started to check out Calibration methods and downloaded a 20mm cube with 0.5mm thin walls. The 20mm size is close but not perfect, but the wall thickness is 0.84mm. I think if I can fix the wall thickness, the cube would have been the correct size.

I then used the LCD screen to extrude 20mm of ABS into the air. Tested it, and it came out as 0.61mm thick, does that seem right?

I checked the esteps calibration using this guide: https://ohai-kit.alephobjects.com/project/extruder_calibration/

When I do this, I am getting different numbers every time. I can run 100mm at 100mm/min with the default esteps of 842.0 and get different numbers every time I run it. If i adjust it, it still pumps out different numbers so I went back to the default setting since my problem isn’t with esteps. The machine is calibrated so I doubt it is wrong anyway.

Back to the gear that I need to print. The size’s are all wrong. The overall size is to small, the teeth are too fat, the inner whole is too small.

I checked the fliment, numbers are all over the place. I get a lot of 2.95 but it goes up to 3.0 and down to 2.85. Should I just average this stuff together?

I am going to be printing with Bridge Nylon soon, so I want to make sure everything is perfect before I attempt anything with this stuff.

Any help would be great. I am just getting sick of dealing with the settings. haha. I need prints as perfect as possible if I am replacing a gear with a printed part. As far as nylon, is the setting on lulzbot good enough or should I tweak it? I want the highest quality print for these gears.

I use Cura but would learn Slice3r or other programs if I it works better. I have the Taz 4.