Component materials and design

Hi Guys, this is my first post here while I wait for my Mini to arrive

I’ve been circling this printer for a while, and finally submitted to the inevitable! My first task for the printer is to help me make parts for a computer racing simulator. I made one nine years ago, complete with home made pedals and a ‘gearbox’, but it was all made from metal and wood and is a leviathan - although I’m proud to say it all worked well.

Now I can see that using 3D printed parts, I can make a better, more compact and probably more reliable version. As a traditional engineer, I am used to cutting bits of metal until I get to where I want to be, now I know that I have to change that philosophy. However I did know the strengths and weaknesses of the traditional techniques, but am totally new to this, so would appreciate your help in understanding where I should be using the 3D printer and where I should not be. Also, tips on design techniques to avoid breakage and poor function would be good.

I am pretty competent with Solidworks, so will be using that to design the parts, and so can incorporate strengthening webs, lightening holes (although more probably in this case media saving holes is more accurate) and bevels and blends to avoid stress raisers

Before any of that though is to know the materials I need. I can finish machine parts on my mill and lathe, so accuracy of parts is not strictly necessary, and cosmetic appearance is not too important either. However toughness, resilience and strength are key so any advice on what material would be the best to use is very welcome.

I throw it out to you guys, hope you can teach me some things!

Cheers

Les

Well if you’re machining metal, you’re ahead of the game from a durability of materials perspective. Plastic is still plastic. You’ll probably want to use the 3D printer for rapid prototyping for fitment and functionality.

When choosing a filament it boils down to a few charateristics: