Help with some artifacts

Hi all!

At our cancer center, we are thinking about getting a 3d printer. Very exciting! It is my job to investigate 3d printers. I tried printing a few things on a MakerBot Replicator 2X but ran into some artifacts. I happen to have free access to one I can use to try things out, but we are actually looking at buying the Lulzbot Taz 5 once we get our bearings straight.

I am very new to 3D printing so I could use some help in understanding and dealing with the artifacts. I am asking on these forums because (1) I hear these forums are helpful and (2) I want to ask if anyone here has had similar issues and if anyone knows what to do about them since we are looking to use the Taz 5.

I made an album to show the artifacts I ran into. Pictured are (1) a Meissner tetrahedron, (2) a jig to help us with some calibration measurements, and (3) an organ for patient visualization.

• Basically there is a vertical spine/ridge that runs from top to bottom and some ridges just randomly appear.
  • Also, the left side of a flat bottom object seems to get lifted up. I saw another user with a similar problem. I understand it is a cooling issue, but I am too new to the field and could use some more explanation on strategies to resolve the issue and their implementation.
  • Finally, I tried printing the organ as a solid object, but about 10% into the job, the MakerBot just went bonkers, making a glob of filament. Any ideas on how to adjust the settings?

I appreciate any help and information.

I took a quick peek at the album… A lot if the issues may be from the slicing settings. The “ghosting” may be the machine, reducing the print speed may help. Maybe a little more insight into the slicing software and parameters would help.