Quick question about TAZ environmental considerations...

First, stone cold old fart noob here. ZERO direct 3D print knowledge/experience.

That said, a TAZ6 is on my shortlist of possible printers to scratch my latest itch. I’m curious if such a machine could live in my wood shop/garage next to my Shapeoko CNC/3.8 watt laser, across from the table saw and bandsaw. What I’m saying is, a sometimes dusty place. Can I just blow the dust off and print? Or, do I need to isolate the printer to protect it from dust?

If dust is a problem could I build some sort of positive pressure enclosure that would not affect printing? I’d really prefer to keep it in the garage if at all possible.

Thanks!

The dust is a minor concern, you can most likely deal with it by wiping the bed off, etc. The bigger concern is temperature. A 3d printer works best in about the same ambient room temperature you find in your house. Too cold, and the plastic will either not stick or come loose from the bed, destroying the print. To warm and you get distortion on your prints and possibly control board issues. The easiest way to get around that is to build or buy an enclosure for the printer. If you build your own, know that the control box needs cool air, otherwise you can cook your shiny new printer, and the filament should be stored outside the enclosure as repeated heat cycles can make it brittle over time. Humidity is also an issue for filament quality, in a garage you may need to make a spool holder box with dessecant in it to prevent little “warts” on your parts.

It definitely can be done, but there are considerations to make it work.

Great info, thanks. First step in learning what questions to ask. I’m in SoCal, so it can get a bit hot on occasion. Will start researching temp requirements now. I’d guess type of filament has animpact?