Suggested "starter parts list"

I’m new to 3D printing and after reading the reviews have decided in the lulzbot mini. I see it doesn’t come with filament so I know I’ll need that. Are there other parts or supplies I should buy upfront to get up and running?

Thanks in advance!

You will definitly want a good digital vernier calipers right from the start if you don’t already have them. Makes designing and calibrating things as you print much easier, and you will need them to measure actual diameter of the fillament you purchase to set that setting in the printer software “Cura” so that you get nice accurate prints. Make sure you buy 3mm fillament, and start with either PLA or ABS, Avoid HIPS or other types as a starter fillament. I started with ABS, many people prefer to start with PLA. The mini will print either of them well

The Mini might come with a tool bag with stuff in it. I know the Taz does. if it doesn’t, you will want the following:
A tool to remove the parts safely from the bed (I use a Calephon Gadgets Cheese wedge with the slicer part taped over for this, best part removal tool ever)
A pair of needlenose pliers or other similar tool to reach in and grab loose fillament strands with
A 3mm hex wrench to tighten any bolts that work loose over time
a 5MM hex wrench for the same reason
A 1.5mm hex wrench to tighten Leadscrew couplers
A size 4 Tandy Leather Edge Beveling tool - this works excellent for removing brim layer remnants from parts http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/201269448759?ul_noapp=true&chn=ps&lpid=82
A good pocket knife or hobby blade for trimming off the occasional plastic blob
A standard point and shoot infrared thermometer to troubleshoot any bed or extruder issues you hopefully won’t have ever. But they only cost around $35 so useful to have around
A tube of Lucas Oil white lithium greese to lubricate the threaded leadscrews (and only the leadscrews, the bearings and rods are self lubricating so never put any of it on them)