TAZ Pro S Top & Bottom Layers Uneven

Hey!

I’m finally spending a bit more time on my new printer, and want to solve a problem it has had since the start. I feel like it should be simple, but I’m nervous to try too much without consulting all you experts. :slightly_smiling_face:

See pics for top & bottom layers. It is always this way, though sometimes a little worse.

-I run it on all default settings, with PolyTerra PLA & PLA+.
-I’ve tried with high detail & high speed with the same results.
-It is noticeable during prints between layers as well, when there is a full flat layer.

This one shows mid-print that the layer has tracks where the head went across it, and left a trail because the layer was too tall.

Top & bottom

Bottom of Print

If you need anything else from me, let me know. I’m still rather new to this, and am grateful for the community!

Thanks!

One more note that might be related:

It also doesn’t meet up nicely at the start/finish of each layer (see pic). I remember reading about it in other posts for different printers but can’t remember what it is called.

If that is related, or an easy fix…

Thanks!

A few things:
If you’re running the latest universal firmware, make sure you’ve got the correct toolhead selected in both Cura and through the firmware menu on your printer itself. If you’re not running the latest firmware, update.

Verify your steps/mm on the extruder.

Print speeds may still be a bit high.

I checked a few things, told the printer to reset to factory default, and found one thing change: The Extruder steps/mm went from 415 to 420. Seems like that might help with the bottom layer looking incomplete, but not the top layer looking too full.

I also updated the firmware from 2.0.0.144.6 to 2.0.0.144.7
Cura LE is newly installed 3.6.37 on Win11. (The problem was the same on my old iMac, also using Cura LE)