Anybody else sharpen their print bed scrapper?

I bought the premium tool kit with my sidekick…but the scraper was flat. I ended up putting marks in the PEI surface. Anyway, I ended up putting a bevel on it…not quite a knife, but it works a lot better now for getting ABS off the bed without marking up the PEI surface.

I mention this because I’m a newb and maybe I should not have put an edge on the scraper? But it gets under ABS prints that haven’t wapred a lot easier. (The warped ones are no problem to get off, but they are worthless to me).

What do you guys think?

Mine is a knife edge.

1 Like

did you sharpen it or did it come that way. I sharpened mine but the I still have a small flat on the tip of mine. Maybe I’ll go all the way and sharpen it to a knife edge.

Make sure the bottom of the scraper is parallel with the bed, otherwise you will have dig-in issues.

Also, I switched to 1 mm PEI sheet (Amazon.com) for better durability and longer life. I did not need to adjust temperature settings, and am getting 3 to 5 times the life expectancy of the stock PEI sheets Lulz supplied.

1 Like

How long will my current PEI last do you reckon? So far, so good. I have done a “dig in” so I got some fine sand paper and got rid of the scratches. Still seems pretty think but I haven’t had it that long.

Llulzbot stock pei For my Taz6 is pretty thin and surface damage is unrepairable, but worse, being thin it has less support against being pulled off the bed when you are removing the print. My current sheet (1 mm) I removed after about a year when the adhesive gave out, cleaned it and put it back on with new 468MP adhesive. I got about 6 months out of Lulzbot’s PEI, printing around 5 Kg filament a year.

So avoiding dig-in is important. I use a razor - scraper, dulled with the bottom edge ground parallel to the bed, to start the removal, finishing with a 4" wide putty knife if needed, and lots of rubbing alcohol applied throughout the operation from a spray bottle.

Arthur